A whiter shade of pale

I’ve just completed something that I’ve never attempted before – crocheting a christening shawl. The person for whom it was made it is very happy with the result and I’m pretty chuffed myself.

My usual approach is spontaneous and serendipitous – whacky ideas producing results that surprise even me. So following a ‘proper’ pattern proved to be a challenging discipline.

Winding fine white yarn around one of my mother’s smaller crochet hooks brought back memories of the exquisite shawl she made for my own daughter, thirty-five years ago. Mine was much simpler than hers but I’m sure she would have been proud of me for giving it a go.

So, will I ever make another one?  I don’t think so – well not for a while anyway. I thoroughly enjoyed working in pure white baby yarn but I’d rather be scrumbling haphazardly in un-natural fibres, with exciting textures and  zinging colours. It’s a passion that I’m powerless to resist!

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

Leave a Reply

