14 thoughts on “Virtual Open Studio #7”

  1. Oh! Instant grinning!

    I love them. And their titles! I really like Pig Iron…you’re to find Duke and Duchess of Pork immediately!

    Super stuff.

    1. Thank you so much for your appreciation, kolembo! We gave the others away as gifts, so I’m afraid I cannot show them. If I make any more, I will remember to post pictures before sending them to new owners!

  2. When I read that first paragraph I felt like I was reading the opening paragraph to a wondrous tale of change and recovery somehow! I haven’t done papier maché in decades. this reminded me of how much fun it can be.

  3. Wonderful and great fun too! I love your bowl. I saw some funky papier mache at a craft fair last year and wanted to have a go but haven’t got there yet.
    I don’t think I would have been too pleased if I’d found my pigs all painted even if they are awesome!

    1. It’s a fascinating, ancient art, Gilly, with so many possibilities – you can even make furniture from it. I was a little surprised to find them finished in my absence – but hey! It was a done deal by then, what could I do? LOL 🙂

  4. Right, it did go. Love the pigs. So does Damien. I also love papier mache. I remember making a volcano out of it at Primary School with my first boyfriend. There’s something magical about creating a useful and decorative object with scrap paper. Get the objects out. Start again. I believe, if you embedded seasidey things in your bowls, etc. they would sell very well. And so would Martin deco pigs. What a pity we haven’t got a council with the vision to hold a regular craft market. (Nobody talk about the Farmers’ Market please – it’s a cartel!

    1. Thanks Anne. I have some marvellous books with excellent designs – maybe this is the summer I’ll get back into it. It is a pity that art isn’t appreciated as much as I imagined it would be here – I know you did your bit to foster it, setting up Quay Arts but it all appears to be a bit of a clique and very ‘samey’ now. 😦

  5. What a lovely joint collaborative effort. I love them. Oh and I struggled to find the logo – was just about to give up, cursing my contacts instead of my glasses when I found it! Yay! Very clever.

  6. These are awesome!!! I love them! 😀 Paper mache can be lots of fun. I have used it over the years to make some pretty neat stuff – I like your blue bowl, too. I bet it’s fun to figure out how to mix and match the flotsam you get from the shore. SO creative! Thanks for sharing this, and I hope you get to make some more soon. 🙂

    1. They are good fun, Corina, thank you. I like to push the boundaries and find out what is and isn’t physically possible with the medium, whilst sticking to natural materials as far as I can. There have been a few disasters (which I pulped and re-used) but I’ve also lucked into happy accidents – I’m as surprised as anyone else when they come out OK! 😉

Leave a Reply

