18 thoughts on “Virtual Open Studio #11”

  1. This is absolutely beautiful. I’m in awe. This is a painting that, if it was hanging in my own, would bless me with beauty and mystery every time I gazed at it. I didn’t find the logo but that may be because I was spellbound by the painting.

    1. Wow! What an incredible response, Joss! I’ve been surrounded by these paintings for years, so I guess I take them ~ and Martin’s talent ~ for granted. It’s very rewarding to revisit them, with the fresh perspective you’ve given. Thank you for that! πŸ™‚

  2. I love it. Me too, loved the painting so much that searching for a logo doesn’t seem important. It put me in mind of a beautiful romany caravan. I love it. You have a talented husband there Jacqueline.

    1. I thought I’d already replied to you, Sue, but it doesn’t appear to be showing. Thank you very much for your lovely comments – I’d never seen it as a gypsy caravan, but you’re right πŸ™‚

  3. Wow, Martin, you have done it again! I think this is an interesting picture even if it were just a photograph – you have some neat elements going on in it. But what you do with watercolors takes the image to a whole ‘nother level! I’ve heard that the key to success with watercolors is to make sure you “let in enough light” – by that yardstick, I would say you’re an expert, for sure.

    I love the colors you chose for this. It could have been a spooky, dark and disquieting image, but you managed to make it magical, like a doorway out of a fantasy fairy tale. The logo is on the inside of the vase at the bottom, but I agree that this piece is mesmerizing. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing it, Jacqueline, and thank you, Martin for allowing your work to be shared! I bet the 5′ x 3’ piece is stunning when you enter the room!

    1. Hi there Dragonkatet, thanks for your comments. I think the way to paint is to use hard against soft and light against dark. Also keep the colours apart – a lot of watercolours end up appearing dark and ” muddy ” as people don’t do this. The 5’x3′ picture is at the top of a flight of stairs so the perspective changes as you ascend – works well!

  4. Fascinating, inspiring picture. When I see intriguing art like this, I dive into story ideas and have no luck finding imbedded symbols or logos. In the once-popular series of “Where’s Waldo?” I was horrible. I’d always find funning faces or characters who WEREN’T Waldo but were so interesting that they gave me writing ideas. Thanks for sharing this wonderful picture.

    1. I thought I’d already replied to you, Marylin, but it doesn’t appear to be showing. Thank you for your fabulous comments, we’re glad you enjoyed the art! πŸ™‚

  5. There’s a fluidity to the image on the painting. Watercolor paintings like this always fascinate me when I see them. The control of the paint to water ratio has to be very controlled. The story behind the painting must be very intriguing. This is a beautiful
    painting. The painting is too beautiful to look for the logo. The feeling it converys is captivating.

    1. Thank you, so much, Isadora, for your lovley comments! Martin is surprisingly fastidious and methodical ~ hence the controlled results. (I thought I’d already replied, but it doesn’t appear to have been sent.) 😦

Leave a Reply

