18 thoughts on “Virtual Open Studio # 12”

    1. Thank you, Joss! I’m sure I’ve answered this already, Joss, don’t know why it isn’t showing. 😦 He loves exploring different methods and media – and when he’s on a roll, there’s no stopping him! πŸ˜‰

  1. These are beautiful!
    I especially like the second one – there’s something otherworldy in it – like a space caught between here and there.

    I remember Cornwall well! Eighteen and at Worlds End in a Camper Van with a boy called Mathew Bishop and his single mother – all those years ago, a black boy and a white boy and a mother, raising eyebrows!

    All the pieces on your blog are so beautiful – I’m with the comment above me…you should both be living like royalty!

    I wish you peace this week, I am on the last legs of my hundred day journey, and I will have you and the artist in mind.

    1. Thank you Kolembo, now you mention it, the second one has a dream-like quality about it.
      It makes me laugh to think of you and your friends shocking the Cornish locals – they have enough trouble accepting folk from the next village, never mind one with a different colour skin, bless them!
      We do have a great life, even though we have to work as part-time cleaners to make ends meet. But thank you for your brilliant comments – we both appreciate them.
      I’m a little behind with my blog reading, but I did see Paula’s post, when your 100 day journey was done. Congratulations on staying with it and sharing your feelings so honestly with us. It’s an amazing accomplishment!
      With Love,
      Jacqueline (King! :))

  2. WoW! That last one…just leaves me speechless. I am amazed at Martin’s technical skill…these are GREAT! Growing up, we called this “Scratch Art”, so it’s interesting to note that there is another term for it. As kids, we would use crayons and make big swatches of different colors and then color over the entire thing with a big, thick black crayon, then use a paper clip or pin to make our “scratch art”. πŸ™‚ As I grew older, the black crayon was replaced with India Ink, but with the same principle. Mine were never even close to the level of detail that Martin has displayed, but it’s a fun art-form, especially when you don’t remember what color will show through next!

    1. Thank you, so much, Corina, for your enthusiastic response! Looking at the actual scraperboards is even more amazing, as you can see the scratch marks and fully appreciate how tricky the technical detail is. The crayon idea is great, I’ve never heard of it before but I’ll use it to entertain my grandchildren,(twin boys + sharp instruments = tears before bedtime!) πŸ™‚

  3. I’ve never heard of Scraperboard Technique – it sounds difficult. The detail in the last two picture is astonishing. They must’ve taken him ages to complete.

Leave a Reply

