Virtual Open Studio # 15

In earlier posts I’ve mentioned that The Artist has a habit of chucking his paintings in the bin or ~ better still ~ burning them, (unless I get there in time snatch them from the flame!)

Many moons ago, he painted this picture at the end of a somewhat volatile relationship, (could you guess?) So, when he met me, he decided to destroy it. But I loved it, instantly ~ and couldn’t allow that to happen, so I found a suitable frame and hung it on the living room wall.

The light shining at the window guides the eye towards the source of warmth and comfort, and shelter from the ravages of the storm. It came to symbolise the way we felt, coming home to our own cosy cottage.

VOS # 15 THE HAVEN

20120707-131357.jpg

This old-school painting is on paper and rendered in watercolour and waterproof ink, using masking fluid to create the forks of lightning.

Many have requested copies, (including the girl at the printers!) ~ so clearly the image strikes a universal chord!

This work is ours so copyright conditions apply ๐Ÿ™‚
20120414-151805.jpgl

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! ๐Ÿ˜

12 thoughts on “Virtual Open Studio # 15”

  1. I like this picture very much so I can see why did You save it.It is really very interesting.Thanks for sharing!
    It must be fun living with a painter,hm?
    Be blessed!

  2. I’m so glad you managed to keep it from the ravages of the Artist! It’s beautifully painted and I can quite see why so many people want a copy of it! Although actually, I find the lightening quite frightening (dramtic and beautiful, but scary!) and think the house looks too far away to reach in such a storm. Nice to know the real story behind the painitng, of what it came to symbolise. I love the colours.

    1. I guess it is a bit scary – bursting with the raw emotion he was feeling at the time. I too love the colours – especially the way Martin has blended them. Thank you Taralah! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I’m just now catching up with my reading, so I’m sorry I’m late to the party but wow, what a neat picture! I like that the lightning’s stark white is reflected in the grass highlights. Love the treatment of the clouds (is that wet on wet?)! This is one where I feel like I could just step through the frame and into that magical place that Martin has created. I bet you could make a mint with an online gallery for him, just doing prints of the ones you saved from the trash/flames. ๐Ÿ˜‰ So glad you did!

Leave a Reply

