Occupy Blogosphere 26

On Wednesday I reached the advanced age of sixty! It was a birthday to remember, spent with The Artist in the historic Naval town of Portsmouth. This is me, on the ferry to the mainland, at the start of our great adventure:

20120727-073317.jpg

When we docked, our first port of call was the 170 metre Spinnaker Tower at Gunwharf Quays ~ the tallest structure in England, outside London. The brochure promises a panoramic vista from the top, weather permitting. Luckily ~ after weeks of low cloud and heavy rain ~ the sun decided to shine for me, so visibility was perfect!

20120726-102224.jpg
The Crow’s Nest is the highest viewing deck. Just below me, in this picture, is the town of Gosport and the Royal Naval Hospital, where I ‘joined up’ as a student nurse, in 1971!

20120726-105557.jpg
At the ‘Cafe in the Clouds’, on the middle deck we could see The Isle of Wight clearly enough to point out familiar landmarks.

20120726-105900.jpg
This snapshot through the glass floor, on the lowest viewing level, gives me goosebumps! It’s absolutely safe to walk on, but just felt ‘wrong’! I could hardly bear to let go of the handrail but I made myself do it ~ I couldn’t go all that way and chicken out, especially as small children were scampering back and forth and lying on their tummies, looking down!

The tower is surrounded by cut-price designer outlets and fashionable restaurants. We noticed that people weren’t being tempted to buy ~ even with the 70 per cent discount that some shops were offering. I did splash out six quid on purple pens, though (three for the price of two.) It amused Martin that of the many things I could have treated myself to, these were all I desired. Well, they’re difficult to get on the Island!

Scary heights and retail browsing over, we set off for Southsea on foot ~ discovering much more than we would have from a bus. Like the house where Portsmouth Football Club was founded and the arch through which Lord Nelson took his last few steps on English soil, before sailing HMS Victory into battle at Trafalgar.

After strolling past a moat, through a funfair and along the crowded Esplanade, we eventually reached the Aquarium:

20120727-091347.jpg
From ‘the top of the world’ to ‘the bottom of the sea’ in one afternoon!

I loved every minute of my special day, albeit tiring ~ well, after all, I am a senior, now! One final ‘first’ for me ~ the homeward crossing on a Hovercraft ~ then card and present opening, in my courtyard:

20120726-122040.jpg
At the end of a perfect day!

The Occupy Blogosphere movement was started by Amy, author of Souldipper’s Blog, to light up the Blogosphere with a shot of positive energy, each week. To read her most recent post ~ and for more information on how to join in ~ please click here: http:souldipper.wordpress.com

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

23 thoughts on “Occupy Blogosphere 26”

  1. Such lovely photos’s – I love your happy smile and cheerful pink top – it’s always so good to hear about a perfect day! I’m so glad the weather was kind and bright to bless your special celebration day! Wonderful choice in shopping too.. !!! Some of the best purchases are small, useful, enjoyable and beautiful! xxx

    1. Thank you, Tara ~ bright colours do attract me and raise my spirits. It was a great day all round and the pens have been used in earnest, to hand write my ‘morning pages’! πŸ™‚

  2. what a great day. You look fabulous. I love your top and the bare feet – my kind of gal. the sun shone for you, the artist was their beside you, oh life is good. Great days are ahead.

    1. Thank you, Joss ~ I did start out wearing wedged sandals but once I removed them to walk on the glass floor, they stayed off, so that I could feel the smooth, warm floor underneath my feet. I do agree that this is the start of a new, great phase of life! πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, Susan, you’re my best friend! When Martin saw the photos he’d taken, he commented that I look younger now than I have for years and I agree I’m more relaxed! πŸ™‚

  3. Happy birthday, Jacqueline. I’ll occupy a birthday party with you any day! Especially since you have gracefully joined those of us merinading in our experience and wisdom! πŸ˜€ Well, I can hope I am…

  4. I hit post too quickly. I really loved the photos of you and what you saw on your tour. You look great. I thought, “Look at those wonderful colors.” Then the purse appreared. “Yep, she lives with an artist!”

    And I learned here that you nursed?

    I was not surprised to read about your fear of heights. When I saw your second photo, I COULD TELL by your body language that you were not comfortable. That would be my pose! And step on glass?? You kiddin’?!

    1. Thank you for the compliments, Amy. I’ve always dressed colourfully and never thought about it until a younger friend tried to persuade me into ‘neutrals’ for my son’s wedding. The Artist was having none of that (I would have looked washed out) and encouraged me to wear a patterned green and turquoise dress, which did feel fabulous, (hence the turquoise shoulder bag!)
      I nursed for 18 months, before I had my son. In those days mothers stayed at home, so I had to leave and, because my ex husband often went to sea and childcare wasn’t an option, I never returned to it.
      It was scary looking down but I kept telling myself that it was perfectly safe and deliberately pushed my own limits! πŸ™‚

  5. “Happy Belated Birthday to you! πŸ™‚
    Λœβ€*Β°β€’.Λœβ€*Β°β€’.Λœβ€*Β°β€’.β˜…β˜….β€’Β°*β€Λœ.β€’Β°*β€Λœ.β€’Β°*β€Λœ
    ΒΈΒΈ.β€’*Β¨*β€’β–‘Hβ–‘Aβ–‘Pβ–‘Pβ–‘Yβ–‘(Β―`’‒.ΒΈ *β™₯β™₯β™₯* ΒΈ.‒’´¯) β–‘Bβ–‘Iβ–‘Rβ–‘ Tβ–‘Hβ–‘Dβ–‘Aβ–‘Yβ–‘ (Β―`’‒.ΒΈ*β™₯β™₯β™₯*ΒΈ.‒’´¯) Hope you enjoyed YOUR special day!
    β•‘β•šβ•¦β•β•¦β•β•¦β•β•¦β•¦β•— β•‘β•šβ•¦β•β•¦β•β•¦β•β•¦β•¦β•— β•‘β•šβ•¦β•¦β•β•£β•šβ•£β•šβ•¦β•β• β•β•¦β•¦β•—
    ║║║╬║╬║╬║║║ ║║║╬║╬║╬║║║ ║╬║║╔╣╔╣║║╬║╬║║║
    β•šβ•©β•©β•©β•£β•”β•£β•”β•©β•—β•‘ β•šβ•©β•©β•©β•£β•”β•£β•”β•©β•—β•‘ β•šβ•β•©β•©β•β•šβ•β•©β•©β•©β•β•©β•©β•©β•—β•‘
    ΒΈ.β€’*Β¨*β€’.β™ͺβ™«β™«β™ͺHappy Birthday .β™ͺβ™«β€’*Β¨*β€’.ΒΈΒΈ β™₯Happy Birthday to youuuuu β™ͺβ™«β€’*Β¨*β€’.ΒΈ.β€’*Β¨*β€’β™«
    Λœβ€*Β°β€’.Λœβ€*Β°β€’.Λœβ€*Β°β€’.β˜…β˜….β€’Β°*β€Λœ.β€’Β°*β€Λœ.β€’Β°*β€Λœ”

    1. Wow, how did you do that Elizabeth ~ it makes me smile! πŸ™‚ I did enjoy my day ~ and the days that followed, when friends and family visited, bringing even more cards and gifts ~ I am so lucky!

      1. A friend posted it to me once and I saved it, tweaked it, and love sharing it on birthdays. Glad you liked it. Feel free to use it. πŸ™‚

  6. Thank you Izzy, what a lovely blessing! When such amazing history is on your doorstep, it’s easy to take it for granted. So I’m glad we took time out to visit it like tourists! πŸ™‚

  7. Happy belated birthday!! It looks like you had a very enjoyable time, and I must say you look beautiful in pink! It must be on your color wheel. So glad you got something for yourself that you wanted and that you had such a good day. πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, so much, Corina, it was one of those blissful days, when everything fell into place effortlessly. I am drawn to vibrant pink, it really lifts my spirits. πŸ™‚

  8. Belated birthday greetings Jacqueline. It’s nice to see photos of you – I also love your purple top. (My glasses are purple!). What a lovely day you had.

    When you said your birthday was on Wednesday? Was that July 25th? That’s my Mr F’s birthday πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

