Virtual Open Studio #19

As we’ve shown over the last eighteen weeks, The Artist has a meticulous, thoroughly researched way of working. He never starts a project until he has thought it through and has materials and tools in place ~ whether they be physical or virtual. Yet he has always professed to envy my free flow, ‘let’s~just~start~and~see~what~happens’ approach to craftwork.

Whether it be slapping shells and driftwood around a mirror; glueing torn tissue paper onto a balloon, or joining random scrumbles of crochet, I tend to work quickly and intuitively, allowing my art to emerge from apparent chaos. When I start out, I’m never sure how ~ or even if ~ the project will have a successful outcome. If it does, I’m thrilled. If not, no worries ~ I can usually re-cycle the disaster and try a different method, having learned the physical limitations of that medium.

I’m constantly thinking of alternative uses for waste items and packaging, (when given presents, I’m as delighted with the wrapping paper as with the gift it conceals.) I collect found items, without really knowing what to do with them; use up Martin’s left-over paint and buy vibrant yarns with interesting textures, from sale bins. Stuff that no~one else wants, that would otherwise be abandoned. I’m a happy amateur, who enjoys breaking rules to make quirky things that amuse me.

Like these:

20120805-112428.jpg

20120805-112506.jpg

20120805-112555.jpg
(This UFO might end up as an item of clothing ~ a wrap or a long flowing cardigan. Or it could just be a cushion cover ~ who knows? We’ll just have to wait and see!)

‘I wish I could work as spontaneously as you do,’ The Artist said, when admiring something I’d made.
‘You don’t really,’ I gave my stock answer, ‘if you did you would do it. Why don’t you give it a go?’
We’d had this conversation before, more than once.

But this time he took up the challenge, raided my stash of materials and came up with these:

VOS #19 POPPIES, MUSHROOMS AND DRAGONFLIES

20120805-113737.jpg

20120805-113915.jpg

20120805-114009.jpg

20120805-114036.jpg

This work is ours so copyright conditions apply πŸ™‚
20120414-151805.jpgl

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

18 thoughts on “Virtual Open Studio #19”

  1. To be so talented! Your art amazes me — both of you are incredibly creative, and I am envious. Every once in awhile I get the urge to get creative. Sometimes it works out, but most often not. I have a closet FULL of half-completed projects that I swear one day I’m going to finish. Trouble is someday never seems to arrive. LOL Always a pleasure visiting you!

    1. Thank you so much, Kathy ~ I have two or three projects on the go at once, so I’m challenging myself to make some progress with them over our summer break. I’ll let you know how that works out (or not!) You already have a full and active life ~ I love dropping in to hear your latest news, too! πŸ™‚

  2. Gosh what talent you two possess. I’m not kidding! I decided to linger over at your blog today…it had been awhile since I had visited and then saw reference to this blog…had to check it out. I love the shell frame…I have lots of shells and could easily do this project…couldn’t I? I think I could. Your ‘shrooms are adorable and I guess you knit (or crochet?) as well…my goodness..I’m in awe!

    Also, the Artist’s metal works are very cool. It looks like metal…am I right? You two should get a shop on Etsy and sell some things. I love that last one of the dragonfly flitting over the poppies…although I love them all!

    Looks like fun too! Thanks for sharing, Jacqueline…

  3. The two of you are completely at home in your creativity! How lovely! I am so glad you shared them. I admire the repurposing of items, and when you can make something beautiful, replacing an item that might otherwise make it to the rubbish, that’s just the best! πŸ™‚ Debra

    1. Thank you, Debra, I guess we take it for granted, because we’ve always lived this way. I love your term ‘repurposing’ better than ‘up~cycling’ ~ which sounds way too much like hard work! πŸ™‚

  4. 10 out of 10 for your UFO – I love it! I think it’s wonderful that you re-use stuff – give it a new life. I’m with you on the wrapping paper thing too. I have a box of paper and ribbons and re-use them (just not in quite a creative way as you do!). Thank you for your inspiration.

  5. Very inspiring to see what one can do with wrapping paper and old bits of yarn. Wish I was creative like that…
    Interesting that the Artist took up the challenge How long did it take him to produce the POPPIES, MUSHROOMS AND DRAGONFLIES series?

  6. Thank you, Rosie, it can become a bit of an obsession, so I have to have a clear~out now and then, to free up space to collect more rubbish! Luckly Martin said it didn’t take him very long to produce the PM+D’s ~ just couple of hours, once he’d thought up the designs. His usual multi~layered projects can take months! πŸ™‚

  7. This is SO wonderful! I can only imagine what the energy must be like in your house when you’re both creating! UFO = Unidentified Fabric Object? Hehehe πŸ˜€
    J, your mushrooms are just delightful, and of course it doesn’t surprise me that Martin took the “ball” and ran with it, lol. What about doing a collaborative piece together? Any chance we will see something like that soon? Anyhow, this just reaffirms the idea that you guys are perfect for one another. πŸ™‚ Very well done!

    1. Hi, Corina ~ it’s been a month since you posted this comment, but better late than never! Thank you for your lovely words ~ we were just saying last night how well we compliment each other. Our styles of working are very different ~ I’m happy~go~lucky and spontaneous, whereas Martin is measured and very precise, so we tend to do our own things, just asking each other for technical advice when we require it. I’m not sure how a truly collaborative effort would work out ~ maybe we should start one and see! I love your definition of UFO ~ I have several of those! But, in the textile craft world it stands for Un~Finished Object. I have a stash of these, too! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

