To Lee

Forty years ago today, my first child was born. In the last few weeks of my pregnancy I found it difficult to sleep. Excited and nervous, I couldn’t wait for the Big Event, longing to see what he or she looked like.

At the time my (then) husband and I possesed a portable record player but only a couple of singles ~ ‘My Sweet Lord’ by George Harrison and a ‘double A side’ by Roberta Flack. One track was the haunting ‘Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow’ but the flip side tapped into my emotions at the time and I played it over and over every night ~ it soothed me until I dozed off.

Years passed and my son became a dancer, performing on the West End stage and in Germany. Once, when we were discussing our favourite music, he told me that each time he heard this particular piece, he fell asleep!

So, Lee, here is my 40th Birthday greeting to you ~ I know that it’s supposed to be a love song from a woman to her man but the lyrics describe, so perfectly, how I felt Β ~ the first time ever I saw your sweet little baby face. Awww!

P.S. Please don’t listen to this while driving!

P.P.S. If you find this embarrassing, tough. I’m your mother, that’s my job! πŸ˜‰

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

19 thoughts on “To Lee”

  1. This is just lovely – especially as your son read this and loved it too! I have an African friend who told me that in her culture when the first child is born their mum becomes known in the community as Mamma and they take their name of the first born – so that would make you Mamma Lee. I particularly like the fact that she said that birthdays are both about the child and the mum. So Happy Birthday to you both!

    1. Thank you, Jacqueline, I love the tradition you share (though I’m not sure what my daughter would think about me taking her brother’s name!) Your African friend is right ~ our chiodren’s birthdays are about us, as Mother’s too. I will always remember that! πŸ™‚

  2. How lovely! A beautiful song, and I haven’t previously thought of it from mother to child, but you’re right, the lyrics are just perfect! It isn’t until our children have children that they can really understand how their births turned our lives on end and we were never the same! πŸ™‚ Debra

    1. Thank you for your support, Debra, I did have a momentary loss of confidence right after I pressed ‘publish’, wondering if this memory was too private to share publicly. But I wished to connect my feelings for him and his sister, with the unconditional love he feels for his own daughter ~ and I do know he ‘gets it’. Bless him! πŸ™‚

  3. This is a beautiful story about the beginning of what has been a wonderful relationship with this meaningful song. I think it has a history that your son probably finds special (though, he may not say that directly to you). I think it’s sweet and loving. I really like your last line – P.P.S. If you find this embarrassing, tough. I’m your mother, that’s my job! – it’s so motherly.
    Perfect – Happy Birthday to your son, Lee.

  4. Thank you so much, Izzy, for understanding that this on~going relationship had a very special beginning. Lee and I have not always seen eye~to~eye but that’s OK, because we share this enduring bond. I guess all mothers embarrass their kids at times ~ but we can’t help being who we are! πŸ™‚

  5. What a lovely birthday greeting to your son.
    Oh how sweet to hear that he’d fall asleep listening to your favorite tune. We have no idea when our kids are small how they interpret the music we love and play all the time.

    1. Thank you, Rosie ~ he didn’t realise why this particular track relaxed him so much until we discussed it! In the 70’s whether an unborn baby could hear the outside world ~ but this proves that they not only hear but can form subconscious memories.

  6. Awww… 3 years older than my oldest.. Congratulations to your Son and to you, Being a Mother has to be the Greatest feeling ever, Next I have to say is Being a GrandMother..
    Love and Blessings to you And many thanks for your welcome back wishes..
    Sue πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

