Nurturing Thursday 15

For the past few days I’ve been inspired to nurture my inner ‘artist’ ~ working on a project, which I started eighteen months ago and then forgot about. It’s a papier~mâché sun, made from polystyrene pizza packaging and discarded wrapping paper.

I love creating art from non~biodegradable rubbish. Occupied with more serious concerns, as I have been for quite a while, I’d forgotten how much it nurtures me. Now I’ve re~connected with the fun of messing around with paper, glue and paint, several other recycling projects are springing to mind. But first I must finish this one.

When it’s done I’ll add several coats of yacht varnish to make it waterproof, then hang my sun in the garden ~ shining more consistently than the real one in the sky! 😉

Here I’m applying a base coat of buttery yellow, over the acid tone I’d previously used to seal it, (using up The Artist’s discarded acrylic paints)…..

20130613-095501.jpg

…..sitting outside in the sun, forming the rays from pipe~cleaners and masking tape…..

20130613-100305.jpg

…..and adding different colours, to create more depth and contrast…

20130613-100743.jpg

Now, please excuse me but I just have to go and play some more, sponging on gold highlights…..figuring out how to attach the sun~rays…..

Like me, this is a work in progress. 🙂

Nurturing Thursday is the idea of Becca Givens, author of ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about this, or to join in, please click here.

*to read my earlier ‘Nurturing Thursday’ posts (all 14 of them!) please visit Wightrabbit’s Blog

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

22 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 15”

  1. I love this creative use of discards! Only a true creative sees the sun in a discarded pizza box, Jacqueline! You inspire me to look around a little differently. Please be sure to share the finished project? I’m so curious. ox

    1. Thank you so much Debra ~ yes I always look carefully at things before I throw them in the recycling bin, to see if I can find an alternative use. Mind you, I have to have a clear out now and then, to make room in my stash! 😉

  2. Wow this is so inspiring! I’d love to try something like it and can’t wait to see the end result. I love to upcycle 🙂 My friend, with a little help from me, reuses leather coats to make journals.

    1. Thank you, Gilly ~ I will post pictures when I finish it. Don’t hold your breath ~ inspiration has tended to come in fits and starts of late ~ but I would like to get this hung outside, so will definitely push on! 🙂

  3. You’ll have to give us a picture of the finished project. the sun has been a rare commodity in my part of the world as late — wouldn’t mind seeing something bright and whimsical.

    1. I will Kathy ~ we’ve had a definite lack of sunshine in the UK this year ~ and for the past few actually. It does seem to be warming up a little now ~ aft all it is the summer Solstice so it’s long overdue! 🙂

    1. Me neither, Becca, it’s been on the go for far too long and I have loads of other ideas I’d like to try out. And you’re welcome ~ I really do enjoy these Nurturing Thursdays! 🙂

    1. Thank you for the lovely compliment, Laurie, I enjoy your inspiration, too. As you say, it’s good to connect in this way ~ it focuses me on nurturing myself, so that I can write about it! 🙂

    1. Thank you, Amy, it is great fun creating things that look as though they’re made from different material ~ like metal or stone. People are surprised when they find that it’s just paper and glue ~ and it holds up surprisingly well, even outdoors! 🙂

  4. Its always Fun to get into that creative mood and you look like you are having loads of fun doing this Sunny project.. I will be sure to look out for more updates Jacqueline.. Thank you for sharing
    Sue x

    1. It is, Sue ~ though I’ve struggled to keep the flow going recently. When I worked full time I’d come home and work on creative projects until the wee small hours, unable to stop until my hands got too sticky to carry on. Now I have every morning free, I faff about and never seem to ‘achieve’ much ~ but that really isn’t the point and I’m learning to be patient with myself!

  5. You and me both, Corina! It’s been in a bin bag under the stairs for months but I’ll have to crack on with it, now that I’ve published pictures of the Unfinished Object! 😉

Leave a Reply

