Nurturing Thursday 17

This is what I’m reading at the moment:

20130627-170721.jpg

My lovely friend Julie dropped it in last week, along with the novel ‘Getting There’ by Manjula Padmanabhan, because she thought I’d like them.

Since I downloaded the Kindle App to my iPad, I haven’t read a ‘proper’ book, I’ve been working my way through my electronic library. But I’ve discovered that I can’t use my tablet outside (my own reflection obscures the page) or in the bath ~ what if I nod off and drown my favourite gadget? 😦

This narrative non~fiction follows on from ‘The Battersea Road to Enlightenment’, which I haven’t read (but plan to soon.) As she charts her journey of inner and outer change Isabel’s style is chatty, insightful and humorous, which I admire. It’s how I’d like to write.

I’m nearly half way through now ~ having explored Feng Shui and participated in Anthony Robbins’ seminar, she’s now embarking on a ten day Silent Retreat. After that she’ll attend Satsang sessions with a Guru and travel to the Amazonian Jungle to meet Shamans and sample hallucinogenics, in her quest for further enlightenment.

I’m thoroughly enjoying this guided tour ‘through the eccentric highways and byways of the new age and human potential movement,’ as Mick Brown of The Daily Telegraph calls it in his critique. I love the jolly cover too, (that’s how I choose my books!)

I’m grateful to Julie for thinking of me. You could say that’ The Battersea Road to Paradise’ is right up my street! πŸ˜‰

Nurturing Thursday is the idea of Becca Givens, author of ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about this, or to join in, please click here.

*to read my earlier ‘Nurturing Thursday’ posts (all 14 of them!) please visit Wightrabbit’s Blog

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

15 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 17”

    1. It has come at just the right time for me, Susan. I hope you enjoy your book too ~ it’s great to get stuck into a good book, isn’t it, especially if the author is a friend!

    1. Yes, it was a timely gift, too, Joss. Julie said she kept looking at these two books on her shelf and thinking ‘Jacqueline!’ She brought them at just the right moment and I’m learning so much from this one, (guess I will from the other one, when I get around to reading it!)

      1. It is heartwarming, Joss, especially when there’s synchronicity. Julie and I only see each other occasionally now but it always seems to be at the right time and with the right message for me! πŸ™‚

  1. Beautiful cover. Right now I’m reading The Cat’s Table, by Michael Ondaatje. He’s one of my favorite writers. This book is quite different from his other novels, but I’m thoroughly enjoying it. Especially after the slog of reading A Breath of Snow and Ashes!

  2. I love my Kindle, too, Jacqueline. And I was dead-sure it wasn’t going to be much use to me other than when I travel. Now I feel a little guilty as I pass my book lined library shelves! Of course I joke that I must have a very long life ahead of me, because I have all these books to read! πŸ™‚ Thank you for the review. It sounds like a book I would really enjoy.

  3. I enjoy my kindle on vacation but need a real book in the event that I want to underline and re-read something. I love the way you pointed out the horror of the reader falling into a bath tub. Yikes ….!!!!
    Nice entry for Nurturing Thursday. I am on my way to amazon to order a copy.
    Namaste …
    Isadora

    1. Yes, Isadora, I think it’s great that we have both options ~ for me there is no debate about whether one medium is ‘better’ than another. I often doze off in the bath, but not in the shower πŸ˜‰

  4. It’s wonderful when someone thinks of you with a book, my sister-in-law brought Terry Pratchett’s Guards! Guards! round for me. I love his sense of humour and little english quirky words…. which she asks me to translate for her!! lol

    1. Hi Claire, great to have you back again! I, Bringing me the books was a great idea of Julie’s at just the right time for me. I know what you mean about the quirky ‘English’ words ~ and wry sense of humour ~ which requires translation. I often wonder how blog buddies get on with some of the books I recommend because of this culture difference! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

