Nurturing Thursday 18 ~ Infinity and Beyond…..

Mostly ‘Nurturing’ is soft and fluffy, like noticing a rose coming into bloom or reading an inspirational book. But sometimes it’s about stepping away from the stereotype, going a little bit crazy, doing something unexpected and rocking the rebel within!

This, then, is my random act of outrageousness:

The Artist and I had our wedding bands hand~crafted from ‘ancestral’ gold: my mother’s ring from her first marriage, to my father; a chain that had belonged Martin’s Dad, a cuff link, odd earrings, a broken necklace….. Items no longer serviceable, treasured only for their sentimental value, kindly donated by our families.

For a long time it felt right to be connected to our loved ones in this way ~ but this Spring a strand of mine worked loose. Far from being devastated or superstitious, I viewed this as an opportunity to re~design it ~ this same weak spot had been repaired once already. I’d show you a photo but I took it off and stashed it ~ evidently in some parallel dimension, because search as I might, I can’t find it in this one. No worries, I’m sure it will re~materialise when I’m looking for something else. These things always do.

In it’s place I put on my mother’s ‘Tree of Life’ ring, which I cherish and which I’ve worn before, (and yes, I did cleanse it of stale energy first.) But one morning I found it on the chest of drawers beside the bed ~ I’d removed it whilst asleep! Clearly I wasn’t meant to be wearing that one ~ or any of the others I tried. They either irritated me or looked weird.

For a while I didn’t wear a ring at all but that was just wrong. As my digits are large and capable, they require some form of adornment. (Apparently, when I was born, my mother’s first words were, ‘Oh my God! She’s got hands like shovels.’ Actually they closely resemble hers and whenever I look at them I smile at what she said ~ and said again, when she told me.Thanks Mum! I’m not bitter, her precious jewellery fits me perfectly.)

My husband wasn’t particularly upset that I wasn’t wearing the ring with which we plighted our troth, in fact he came out in support and took his off for a while. But we agreed that I should sport a visible symbol of our marriage. So, after much debate, we arrived at the following solution:

20130703-152119.jpg
Yes, in my 61st year and on our fifteenth wedding anniversary, I had my first tattoo ~ an infinity symbol on my ring finger.

It works on different levels: It won’t break and I never have to remove it, so I don’t have to fret about losing it; it doesn’t catch on anything, it’s unique and individual, it channels my inner ‘wild child’. And far from being ‘branded’ by my man, as one wise~crack suggested, I view it as emblematic of our union, of the infinite love that we share. (Awwww!)

Corina’s post on Dragon’s Dreams inspired me to choose this design. It is significant to me because I can feel Chi energy moving through my body in this way ~ as an ever~lasting loop~de~loop. It’s also how I ‘see’ the rhythm of my favourite pieces of music.

Although it may not be clear in this photograph, the colours I’ve chosen are those of the two upper chakras ~ indigo (Anja, third eye) and violet (Saharara, crown).

We are delighted with the result ~ although I have had a few anxious moments, while it’s been healing and Martin’s had to do the washing up for two weeks. (Couldn’t blag it for any longer than that.)

And, if I ‘regret it when I’m older’, (LOL) I can always hide it under a conventional ring. Yeh right, like that’s gonna happen?

I don’t think so! πŸ˜‰

Nurturing Thursday is hosted by Becca Givens, author of ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about this, or to join in, please click here.

Other Nurturing Thursday posts can be found on the following blogs:

Crowing Crone Joss

Inside the Mind of Isadora

Laurie’s Notes

Pocket Perspectives

*And…..finally….to read my earlier ‘Nurturing Thursday’ posts (all 14 of them!) please visit Wightrabbit’s Blog

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

15 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 18 ~ Infinity and Beyond…..”

  1. Love it! What a good idea. I haven’t been wearing my ring for awhile after having my daughter and adjusting it several times. I notice it when I go out in the world and wish I had remembered to try it on again. I am not one to wear much jewelry – but I will go get my wedding ring. Maybe I will redesign sometime. I am so different than when I got married 13 years ago.
    Great nurturing post. Like the twist.
    πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks, Laurie ~ I don’t wear much jewellery either and but have had several wedding rings. I married twice; lost first one whilst swimming in the sea, had another cut off because my fingers swelled, this latest one broke…..so this is the ideal solution and I’m liking it even more as it heals! As you say, we change over time ~ it’s interesting to look back and compare! πŸ™‚

  2. It’s lovely! When I was young — very, very young — I wanted to have a ring tatooed on my finger, but I never did it. (earrings, too, because I can’t wear pierced ones). I’m curious: did it hurt? because there’s not an awful lot of tissue over the finger bones.

    1. It didn’t hurt much, Kathy and, as it’s so small it only took about twenty minutes to complete. It’s an indescribable feeling, not what I expected at all! It’s never too late ~ go for it!!! πŸ˜‰

  3. What an awesome idea. I love it. I have 3 tattoos and all were painful. I’m thinking of making my next one a small peace sign. I hear the wild woman in your words and applaud you for doing what felt right to you. Hugs and kudos on a great article. πŸ™‚ Brenda

    1. Thank you, Brenda ~ it is so small but has a huge significance to me. It was much less painful than I was anticipating, but then it did only take 20 minutes to complete!

  4. :-O WOW! Bravo to you! I’m glad that something I put out there into the web could help inspire you so. I think that is a terrific idea and what a wonderfully unique tribute to something as special as your marriage. I bet Martin loved the idea, too. I love that you’ve indulged your inner ‘wild woman’ and let her out for a bit! πŸ˜€

    1. Ha! Ha! Corina ~ I bet that surprised you! I hoped you would appreciate the tribute ~ it is sincere. Martin does love the tattoo ~ he thought of having one done too, then chickened out, saying his fingers were too narrow! I do feel as though I am evolving, being less concerned about others’ preconceptions as I get older! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

