Nurturing Thursday 21

Today has been a good one!

As I finished my morning meditation, with clear intention about my wishes for the future, the phone rang. I picked it up to hear my four year old grandson, Ruan, singing ‘Happy Birthday Gran’. (Yes, it’s that time of year again.) His twin brother, Mylo, wasn’t in the mood to talk ~ clearly he takes after his Mum and is not a morning person! No matter, I’ll be seeing them on Monday when they come to visit and I’m sure I won’t get a word in edge~ways then!

Although school’s out for summer, The Artist still has his morning Age UK assignments, visiting those who require additional help with every day tasks. As he left he promised me that we’d spend the afternoon shopping for bamboo wind chimes and solar fountain. And after that he’d give me the additional help I require to tidy up the garden ~ a heartfelt gift, because he’s not that keen on horticulture. (If it were up to him he’d pour on a ton of concrete and turn it into motorcycle parking, complete with turntable!)

As he was roaring off on said motorbike, my son ‘Facetimed’ me, to say he was popping over from the mainland with his wife and my granddaughter (who wore her special party dress.) It was a lovely surprise, which made me very happy! Martin was thrilled too, when he returned to find that they’d arrived ~ birthday celebration sorted without him having to lift a spade. (Ah well, babe, there’ll be plenty of time for getting our hands dirty over the weekend.)

We had a leisurely tapas lunch at a local cafe, then drove into town for a little retail therapy. All too soon it was time for them to sail back home, across The Solent.

After we’d sent them on their way with hugs and kisses and a bag of herbs and garlic that I’d grown, I opened up my cards from distant friends and relatives. I still have messages to read on Facebook and I’ve just heard from a long~time friend, who will be on the island tomorrow and plans to drop in to see us.

Now our foster~dog is waiting pariently for her evening stroll. But for the moment I’m taking ‘time out’ in my sunlit courtyard. (I’ve been wandering this Earth Plane for a while, so I deserve a rest.) Despite the gloomy weather forecast and a mist of rain this morning, my birthday turned into a glorious day.

I’m feeling super~nurtured and for that I’m truly grateful! πŸ™‚

Nurturing Thursday is hosted by Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about it, or to find out how you can join in, press this link.

Other ‘Nurturing’ contributors are:

Crowing Crone Joss

Inside the Mind of Isadora

Laurie’s Notes

Pocket Perspectives

And…..finally….to read my earlier ‘Nurturing Thursday’ posts (all 14 of them!) please visit Wightrabbit’s Blog

P.S. I was just about to put this post to bed, when Jules Marriner, author and illustrator of amazing children’s books, called with a card and a gift of flowering plants. So now Martin can’t escape his promise to help me in the garden! πŸ˜‰

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

19 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 21”

    1. It turned out to be a great week, Joss and I’m just about back down to earth now! Major gardening work has been done and we’re delighted with the haven we’re creating. More about that to come soon! πŸ™‚

  1. And a Belated Happy Birthday!…and many many more!
    sounds like a wonderful day…..
    Take Care…
    )0(
    maryrose

  2. It does sound like a very love-filled birthday for someone who’s been “wandering the Earth plane for a while” and I love the way you set time aside just to contemplate how much you have in family blessing. Many more to come, Jacqueline. Each day is a gift, and I always sense how gratefully you tap into that truth. ox Happy Birthday…a bit late, but celebrate for days and days! πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, Debra, I do appreciate how blessed I am and I always try my best to enjoy each day as much as I can! It’s so much better than being grumpy, which I have been quite a lot in the past πŸ™‚

  3. Wonderful You! Thank you for commenting so I can get to “meet” you, and wishing you all the joys that a belated Happy Birthday can bring you. Your days sound divinely happy.

Leave a Reply

