Nurturing Thursday 22

I’m currently nurturing myself by taking part in two free on~line training courses, both run by The Chopra Centre.

The first is ‘Awaken to Happiness’. I’ve received four of the eight weekly parts so far, learning that there are two types of ‘Happiness’ ~ one which depends on external influences, while the other comes from within.

Although we don’t generally like to think about it, we can lose our homes, employment, loved ones etc. at any moment and the fear of that loss can limit our ability to feel happy in the moment.

This course directs us to the true source of happiness, independent of outside influences, through intention, affirmation, meditation and by practicing ‘consciousness in motion’. I’ve incorporated the training into my morning meditation sessions and have started a ‘Happiness Journal’, to record my progress, insights and emotions.

The Artist is fond of saying that I have ‘a brain the size of a planet’ ~ but I figure there’s always room for improvement, which is why I signed up for the second course. Called ‘Unleash The Power Of Your Super Brain’, it expands on the principle that a healthy brain is key to a healthy body and busts the myths that the number of brain cells decreases with age and that degeneration is inevitable. Backed~up by emerging neuro~scientific data, it encourages us to create the best environment, in which our brains and our bodies can function holistically and naturally.

Part Two ~ ‘Super Memory and the Anti~Aging Brain’ ~ ties in with some research I’ve been doing on the uses of virgin coconut oil in cooking. Amongst many other benefits, a dose of two tablespoons a day is reported to have arrested memory loss in people with dementia and Alzheimer’s. There are even claims that it can actually reverse the effects of these progressive conditions. (There is a great deal of information available on the Internet)

In addition to using coconut oil as a moisturiser and hair conditioning treatment, I’ve been adding small amounts to my diet. My most amazing discovery, so far, is that it tastes great in coffee! Seriously ~ just add a teaspoon or two to your favourite brew and blitz it to prevent a surface oil~slick forming. Delicious, trust me!

I’m also looking forward to yet another Oprah Winfrey and Deepak Chopra ’21 Day Meditation Challenge’, this time on ‘Miraculous Relationships’. It starts on Monday, so there is still time to register if you’re interested ~ just go to ‘ The Chopra Center for further details.

So that’s me well and truly nurtured for the foreseeable future, with a brain as big as The Universe (but presumably no black holes! πŸ™‚

How about you?

Nurturing Thursday is hosted by Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about it, or to find out how you can join in, press this link.

You can find other ‘Nurturing’ contributions here:

Crowing Crone Joss

Inside the Mind of Isadora

Laurie’s Notes

Pocket Perspectives

And…..finally….to read my earlier ‘Nurturing Thursday’ posts (all 14 of them!) please visit Wightrabbit’s Blog

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

15 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 22”

  1. Awesome for you!!!
    I just started using coconut oil as a moisturizer … and really like it. I’ve slowly, but not consistently, have placed it in foods — I will work on improving that aspect.

    Putting it in coffee sounds interesting — I will definitely try! However, I need some help in the terminology “blitz it” … HELP??? πŸ˜€

    Happy Weekend! xo

    1. Thanks, Becca, it’s all working pretty well for me. ‘Blitzing’ is a term coined on our TV cookery shows ~ it means to whisk it up with a hand blender, which breaks up the oil and makes the coffee frothy. I do hope you enjoy it ~ I’ve used soya milk for years and have become accustomed to it’s nutty flavour in hot drinks ~ but I much prefer the taste of this. It’s also great spread on toast, much to my surprise! πŸ™‚

  2. Wonderful Keep on nurturing yourself….Depak Chopra is such a great teacher, you could do no better than learn from a course of his I have a whole book shelf of his books….
    Sending you my thoughts
    Namaste Sue xox

    1. I will, Sue ~ it gives me strength to help others when needed. I’ve read a few Deepak Chopra books too. I love his mellifluous voice on the meditation downloads, makes me feel safe and warm!
      Nurture yourself, too,
      With love,
      Jacqueline ❀

  3. Wow…reading this post, Jacqueline, gives me a feeling that I’m reading my TWIN!! I’m taking a spiritual course on-line, as well, with Barbara Manx Hubbard as our teacher. She’s developing us into spiritual leaders, she tells us. She emphatically claims since we’re the ones who signed up, we’re the one who are fulfilling a prophecy she first heard years ago (with an actual vision). She is inviting all sorts of presenters over the six month course and we had a fabulous session with Jean Houston. It’s all about transformation and helping this planet take its evolutionary steps.

    Big chunks to chew, but you’re obviously part of the process, too. I’m delighted to hear this…I look forward to sharing progress stories! XO!

    1. P.S. I just finished slathering myself with coconut oil – do so after every Aquafit class. Feel like a queen afterwards. I’m interested in trying it in my tea…hmmm can’t imagine, but I’ll certainly give it a try!

  4. I agree, Amy, we do seem to have a common thread running through our lives, even though we’ve only recently ‘met’ on~line! I do feel that the world is transforming, in ways we could only dream about in the past. Social Networking is an important driver, which we didn’t have back in the hippy~trippy~’60’s. More ‘ordinary’ people are sharing information about the likes of Monsanto and the 1%; passing on inspirational messages and openly declaring a desire for world harmony and peace. What used to be considered ‘alternative’ is being embraced by the mainstream and we can’t all be lied to so easily any more. Exciting times now that the tide is finally turning!! πŸ™‚

    P.s. not sure abut coconut oil in tea but I do love slathering it on as well as eating/drinking it! x

Leave a Reply

