Nurturing Thursday 24

I know it’s a cliche ~ and writers are supposed to avoid those like the plague (:)) ~ but ‘little things’ really can make a huge difference.

Having been confined to close quarters since I suffered a whiplash injury a couple of months ago, I awoke yesterday morning jaded by my all~too familiar surroundings, longing for pastures new and clearly on the road to recovery. The Artist had no Age UK assignments ~ he keeps Wednesdays free ~ so, after a leisurely start to his day off, we loaded foster~dog Indie into the car and set off.

We live on the relatively small (but beautifully formed) Isle of Wight, off the southern coast of Britain. After driving along a practically deserted road for about twenty minutes, we arrived at the ferry port of Yarmouth. But we weren’t intending to escape to the mainland, it’s way too stressful over there! However, as each part of the island is different, this short expedition to the West Wight provided the break from routine that I was craving. (as I’m not supposed to say, ‘a change is as good as a rest’!)

It was a mellow Autumn day, lending the small, historic town a holiday atmosphere: sunlit tables outside busy cafes; late season tourists ambling along ancient streets, unique shops selling crytals, Morrocan lamps and artwork, the background hum of boat engines on the water.

We took our Cornish pasties from the deli where they were cooked, down to the narrow beach beside the pier, engaging in dog~related conversation with passing strangers between bites. Ignoring her admirers, Indie sat patiently at our feet, hoping to be rewarded with a tasty treat. She was, of course!

On the homeward journey I felt content. This unexpected trip, though short, had energised me and I feel happier today than I have for quite a while.

I’m going to nurture that. πŸ™‚

Nurturing Thursday is hosted by Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about it, or to find out how you can join in, press this link.

Other ‘Nurturing’ contributors are:

Crowing Crone Joss

Inside the Mind of Isadora

Laurie’s Notes

Pocket Perspectives

And…..finally….to read my earlier ‘Nurturing Thursday’ posts (all 14 of them!) please visit Wightrabbit’s Blog

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

22 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 24”

  1. “It was a mellow Autumn day, lending the small, historic town a holiday atmosphere: sunlit tables outside busy cafes; late season tourists ambling along ancient streets, unique shops selling crytals, Morrocan lamps and artwork, the background hum of boat engines on the water.”

    That sounds a treat!

    1. It was a treat, Nancy ~ I love just being in my home and garden but I find the odd excursion so refreshing. We are so lucky to live within a few miles of so many lovely little towns and villages, here on The Isle of Wight! πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, Susan, we had such an unexpectedly brilliant August that Autumn has taken us by surprise, before we were ready. I do love this season, though, so will take every opportunity to get out there and enjoy! πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, David, it has spawned other trips since ~ to a friend’s 14 acre garden to pick apples and blackberries and to visit other friends in the evening, like a proper grown up! I’ve become a little solitary of late but it is time to rejoin ‘the dance.’ Your entertaining posts inspire me to get out and about more! πŸ™‚

    1. ‘Divine’ describes it beautifully, Brenda. We also went on to a nearby village to check in our books at the library and purchase (yet more) yarn for winter projects, then stopped off to pay a quick visit to a friend on the way home. After a few weeks of very little contact and outside stimulation (which I also appreciated,) this marked the return of my community spirit! πŸ™‚

  2. Amazing how sometimes it doesn’t have to be far..My daughter and I spent the day in the yard the other day and we felt nurtured.
    It’s good to remember that and remember to make even just a small change.
    <3Laurie

    1. You’re so right, Laurie ~ you don’t have to nurture yourself with grand gestures. The last time I visited my son, my DIL asked if there was anywhere we’d like to go, while we were on the mainland. I replied that I’d rather just hang out at their house, being with my granddaughter in her ‘natural habitat’, as it were! We had a lovely chilled day together, rather than rushing around shopping malls with her in her buggy. So nurturing for us all (and for my wallet!) πŸ™‚

      1. Wonderful. My little one sometimes chooses just to stay home and have someone play with her when given the choice. The presence of grandparents is so important. πŸ™‚

      2. I’m only just realising how important I am to the little ones, Laurie. Now they are four and nearly three, it’s become a two~way exchange of love and fun. πŸ™‚

  3. Being a fellow islander, albeit of some distance from your island, I share the feeling of refreshment by simply going to another part of the island – even 20 minutes away. One of the reasons I love hiking is the opportunity to view the island from yet another angle unseen by anyone other than on foot. However, going for dinner in a restaurant on another part of the island can feel like a trip off island.

    1. I’ve been travelling to the mainland once a week to help my daughter with my grandsons. It’s a weird and strange place over there ~ frantic and stressful. Give me island life any day ~ I can see the same goes for you Amy! πŸ™‚

      1. The pace and stress placed – especially on city people – becomes so commonplace and routine for them, awareness of the impact on body and health is forgotten.

        I’ve driven into Vancouver, looked at row upon row of highrises. I’m blown away over the “unnaturalness” of having to live like that.

Leave a Reply

