Nurturing Thursday 25

I must confess that I’m a haphazard gardener.

Each Spring I vow that I will be more organised: planting seeds at the time suggested on the packets; pricking out seedlings as soon as they begin to overcrowd each other, weeding and feeding my tender plants, protecting them from frost and slugs and nurturing them to abundance.

When Autumn rolls around, I find myself reaping crops that flourish despite the capricious British weather and my casual neglect ~ spinach, green beans, tomatoes, a handful of hardy herbs. And, of course, the humble spud. (When in doubt, plant potatoes.)

There are always valid reasons for my inefficiency. This year the erratic climate hampered my good intentions ~ a long, cold, windy start to the growing season, followed by a heatwave. I despaired of ever ‘doing it properly’ and producing a bounteous harvest, like the ones my parents used to gather in. But Mother Nature, it seems, is more adaptable than we imagine ~ which gives me hope for the future of this planet.

She certainly had a few surprises in store for me:
an early glut of strawberries, from runners that I should have curbed last year….. blueberries covering my one surviving bush, (for pollination to occur there should be two, but the other one failed last summer.)…..loganberries from that cane that I really should uproot, (planted, as it is, in entirely the wrong location)….. a healthy yield of yellow plums from twigs my neighbour gave me years ago (now grown into sturdy trees)…… blackberries, on wild brambles poking through the fence and nuts on the twisted hazel…….

And, to my delight…..

20131003-130403.jpg
…..a tiny bunch of seeded grapes and…..

20131003-130601.jpg
…..three small figs.

I guess it’s probably too late for them to ripen, now.

But, next year……………..
πŸ˜‰

Nurturing Thursday is hosted by Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about it, or to find out how you can join in, press this link.

Other ‘Nurturing’ contributors are:

Crowing Crone Joss

Inside the Mind of Isadora

Laurie’s Notes

Pocket Perspectives

And…..finally….to read my earlier ‘Nurturing Thursday’ posts (all 14 of them!) please visit Wightrabbit’s Blog

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

19 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 25”

  1. Obviously Mother Nature is the best gardener of all because I am still picking a bag of green beans every other day and I have just let my bushes go wild. This reminds me that the best I can do at any moment is okay. Thanks for sharing your harvesting story and for the lovely pictures.

    1. I’m glad I’m not the only one who bends the rules, observing what happens, Brenda! I see that, although the seasons are changing, Nature is quick to adapt and respond ~ programmed to survive. Thanks for dropping by and commenting πŸ™‚

    1. She does, Becca and it’s important to take the time to notice the way natural life carries on and evolves, regardless of prophesies of doom. I’m feeling so much better myself, after my enforced period of rest ~ it has taught me to pay more attention to the messages my body sends me, so that I can nurture myself back to full health! πŸ™‚

    2. Thank you, Becca ~ but as you can see, I haven’t quite caught up yet. I’m either hampered by my physical condition, or the internet goes down ~ but I’m making special efforts to get back on track and revert to my cheerful self! πŸ™‚

    1. Yes, Laurie, I do find hidden joy in allowing my plants a little freedom. But I have learned that some rules make sense ~ I planted broad beans out of season and although they produced loads of flowers, few of these matured into pods. It’s a question of balancing a new approach with tried and tested methods, I guess. πŸ™‚

      1. πŸ™‚ Of course. I am not a gardener but I have great respect for gardeners. My husband’s aunt is a wonderful gardener..I used to stay on her property and am always appreciating her work. My husband has some of this, but he is a busy teacher right now.
        Have a nice weekend.
        Love,
        Laurie

  2. I think that is WONDERFUL that you got such yummy surprises by not following the “rules”. πŸ˜€ Mother Nature really is quite resilient. I am kind of a “do it when I can” type of gardener (the weeds tend to grow faster than I care to pull them), but it’s such a worthwhile task. πŸ™‚ When we can see the “fruits of our labors”, so to speak, that makes all the time and effort worth it! I only do flowers now, but have done tomatoes, cucumbers and pumpkins in the past. Fruit sounds wonderful, though.

Leave a Reply

