Spooky!!!

I’ve just spent all morning crafting a Hallowe’en piece about how, in the olden days when I was young, my father carved me a Jack~o~lantern from a turnip. And made a ‘ghost’ costume from a paper grain sack, with slits for arms and holes where he thought my eyes would be, when he pulled it over my head. (They weren’t!)

About how this age~old celebration of harvest safely gathered in, has evolved into full~on pumpkin mania. Complete with store bought fancy dress and debates on whether ‘Trick or Treating’ should be outlawed.

About the magic and the mystery. Honouring the past, preparing for the future.

I definitely saved it.

But it’s vanished, without a trace.

What subtle energy has whisked it from my page, unread?

One that didn’t wish me to publish it, I guess ~ because I’m not going to type it all again. It’s time I had a rest. And I have a hand~written copy to amuse my grandchildren.

The Artist had a good laugh, when I was relating my childhood experience of All Hallow’s Eve to him last night. And it gave me warm memories of special people, now departed and of days gone by, filled with innocent fun and love.

And that, despite the mischievous sprits of the internet, is nurturing.
🙂

Nurturing Thursday is hosted by Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about it, or to find out how you can join in, press this link.

Other ‘Nurturing’ contributors are:

Crowing Crone Joss

Inside the Mind of Isadora

Laurie’s Notes

Pocket Perspectives

And…..finally….to read my earlier ‘Nurturing Thursday’ posts (all 14 of them!) please visit Wightrabbit’s Blog

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

9 thoughts on “Spooky!!!”

  1. Oh noo … at least you have the written copy for your grands … and in the light of things — that is the most important!!! Nurturing connection with you to pass on to the ages! 😀

  2. Halloween, when I was a kid, and Halloween today, are very different. My brother and I went to almost every house in town and ate all the home made goodies they dropped in our bag. This was a time we will probably never see again.

    1. Thanks, Joss, writing the original piece set off a train of thought, which brought me to the conclusion that my childhood wasn’t ‘bad’ or ‘sad’, but held many happy memories. Since my mother died, 11 years ago, I’ve been too emotional to look at that. Seems like time is healing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

