Nurturing Thursday 29

A lifetime ago, when I had a ‘proper job’, I used to moan about having to choose something sensible to wear every day.

I’ve never managed to organise a ‘capsule wardrobe’. I know it makes perfect sense and I have tried to follow the rules, only buying items which compliment those that I already own. But I’m way too easily seduced by random bargains on the sale rails. Luckily I’ve never regretted any of my impulse purchases ~ I’ve always managed to find something to team them with.

But this means that I have wasted valuable flexi~time, struggling to pull together an appropriate ‘look’ for work. Scrabbling through cupboards and drawers for a particular top that was there, somewhere ~ only to unearth it from the laundry bin and having to rethink my outfit.

‘Someone should design a giant Babygro’ I remarked, hurrying into the office one particularly frustrating morning. ‘I’d definitely buy at least one. Dressing would be so much simpler and who knows? I might even get to work with time to spare, for a change.’

This amused my colleagues, (although I was never technically late.) But I could tell they were giving it some serious thought.

‘Wouldn’t it be a bit boring?’ said my line manager, (like he ever wore anything other than a corporate suit.)

‘Not if they made different ones ~ dark colours for work; jazzy ones for leisure, fleecy ones to wear in the winter. We’d accessorise, of course……shoes…..scarves….. nail polish….and we can always ring the changes with jewellery. Why are you laughing? I’m serious!’

My friends may have dismissed this as another of Jacqui’s whacky ideas ~ but I was right. Over the last couple of years The ‘Onesie’ has risen from jokey~Christmas~present to fashionable ‘must~have’ status. Clothes departments stock a variety of designs for all ages ~ including babies. Whatever your personal preference ~ cartoon character, retro Fairisle, antlers and red nose or plain ~ there’s a onesie out there to suit everyone.

Even me.

After searching for a while, I found just what I was looking for on Tuesday ~ and the price was discounted by a massive 70%. Perfect!
So, fifteen years after my original concept, I’m now the proud owner of my first giant Babygro:

20131205-184534.jpg

I love it! It’s all I dreamt it would be…..and more.

I may never take it off 😉

Nurturing Thursday is hosted by Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about it, or to find out how you can join in, press this link.

Other ‘Nurturing’ contributors are:

Crowing Crone Joss

Inside the Mind of Isadora

Laurie’s Notes

Pocket Perspectives

And…..finally….to read my earlier ‘Nurturing Thursday’ posts (all 14 of them!) please visit Wightrabbit’s Blog

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

25 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 29”

    1. Thank you, Joss, it definitely lifts my spirits, particularly as it was marked three sizes smaller than I usually wear! I took it home on spec, hoping that it would fit, so when it did that was an added bonus! 🙂

  1. You’ll never know just what a blessing they are for a man with lots of female relatives at Christmas. I swear North Wales will be covered in them and I’m pretty sure I bought that one too.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx.

    1. Yes, I can imagine, David, although I’m desperately trying not to!!! They do seem to have exploded onto the scene this year ~ might even persuade my man into one, now that he’s seen how comfy mine is. Loving your (((huge hugs))) and sending some back to you! X 🙂

  2. Ah, now Jacqueline, you look lovely in your onsie. Our daughter has a tiger print one, she loves hers when she’s had a bath, to relax in. I do believe most offices have a onsie day. For me, I’m not sure… I’d look like winnie the pooh. Who knows, maybe onsie day?

    1. Haha Susan! You always give me something to smile about! I was a bit worried that I’d look like a bear who’s scoffed too much honey ~ which is why I steered away from the fluffy ones. The sizing is all to pot (mine said 12~14, haven’t been that slim since the eighties!) so the best thing is to find one you like, take it home and try it on in privacy, rather than stripping off in a communal changing room (haven’t done that since the eighties, either!) Go on, you know you wanna!! LOL 😉

    1. You’re right Issy, it is nurturing in many ways. The way I look has been low priority lately, due to several personal challenges, so buying something for myself, that I really love, is a huge step forward for me. I think everyone should have at least one ~ the sense of freedom, whilst being warm and comfortable is amazing! 🙂

  3. I think you look right at home in those comfy jammies. I would love some of my own! Thanks for modeling them…the company ought to use your photo to promote sales. I think they’d see a nice increase. 🙂

  4. Oh, bless you, Debra ~ what a lovely thing to say. I must confess I do feel quite hip and trendy when wearing it but I’ve never thought of myself as ‘model material’, as I’m rather curvaceous. I’ll be strutting my stuff whenever I think of your nurturing comment, so thank you for that! 🙂

  5. I was reading and thinking, “What the heck is a Babygro?” and now I know! I used to love the one I had as a kid with the footies and everything! It’s good to know they make them in adult sizes! Now I simply MUST go out and get one. You look so snug and happy in yours. 🙂

  6. Ohhhhh, I could have used one this past week with our unusually cold weather hovering in the 20s (F) … you look so comfy, warm and relaxed. Bravo on the discovery — and you were way ahead of your time with the idea!! 😀

  7. Now this looks Oh so cosy, just what is needed as the wind howls outside right now… :-), sending you tons of hugs as you spend more snuggle time in your one’say Babygrow 🙂 and wishing you a wonderful Christmas time…. and all the best for 2014…
    Blessings
    Sue xx

  8. Now I want one. This looks warm, comfy and perfect for Cdn winters. Off I go to Google… I love yours…and the chair you’re sitting in. It would match my fireplace perfectly. XO

Leave a Reply

