Nurturing Thursday 31

In my Nurturing Thursday post last week I wrote about some of the things that I’d like to see happen in 2014.

I didn’t mention the changes I plan to make to my diet ~ too many tasty treats left over from Christmas! Not that I’m aiming to lose weight ~ I haven’t owned bathroom scales for nearly 20 years ~ but I’d like to move towards eating more healthily and naturally. I’m not a junk~food~junkie by any means but there’s definitely room for improvement, especially after such an enjoyable festive season. I’m guessing I’m not alone here πŸ˜‰

Although I’m a fan of fruit and vegetable juices, commercially prepared ones can prove expensive or contain unwanted sugar and chemical preservatives. I’d much rather prepare my own but my last juicer left me with messy pulp and was laborious to clean. So, when I found this simple blender on sale at half price this week, I snapped it up.

20140109-194740.jpg

This is my first attempt ~ a melon, strawberry and banana smoothie, made with coconut milk. It was yummy and surprisingly filling. Maybe I will end up slimmer after all! πŸ˜‰

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

21 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 31”

  1. Good luck in your smoothie regime.. I make a jug of Beetroot and apple juice smoothie.. We have a glass each morning with breakfast.. Yummy.. and very Beneficial health-wise.. xxx Good luck

  2. I’m a confirmed potato man but that looked nice. It’s Β£20 from direct asda, did you do better than that at a major shop? You may just make me healthy.
    xxx Hugs xxx

    1. Potatoes are good, too David, full of fibre and Vitamin C. The blender was Β£19.50 in Tesco ~ so I beat you by 50p. But did you have to pay postage on yours? I picked mine up from the store. We don’t have an Asda on the island, and I’ve never looked at their direct website ~ but I’m heading straight over there now! Here’s to a healthy New Year for everyone, hugs back at you too πŸ™‚

  3. This is one of my goals of the year as well — I’ve learned to enjoy kale or spinach added to it — depending on the fruit — the color of green ranges from kelly to darker green … I’ve learned to ignore the color. πŸ˜€

    1. I’m going to investigate using more vegetables, Becca, especial leafy greens, which we rarely include in our diet at the moment. Looking forward to the strange colours ~ as long as it tastes good! I’ll give it a go! πŸ™‚

    1. They are surprisingly delicious, Joss ~ and so much more nutritious than shop~bought ones. My daughter inspires me to experiment ~ she pours home~made smoothies into special pouches and freezes them for the children’s school lunch boxes. Eating healthily is already second nature to them already, whereas I’m still learning! πŸ˜‰

      1. These are the only boys I know who love salad, Joss! They were ‘baby~led’ weaned and used to gum away at green beans, spinach, chunks of cucumber and fruit when they were about four months old. And they’ve always been encouraged to try food, rather than just saying ‘yuk!’ Some people thought Rachael was mad and making more work for herself ~ but it’s definitely been worth the effort.

    1. I’ve added coconut oil as well, this morning, Brenda, and I’m going to try other non~dairy milks too ~ like almond and hemp. Two days in and I’m already feeling more lively! πŸ™‚

  4. I can relate to eating more than my fair share of holiday goodies. Thankfully, my husband, daughter and I are on a sensible diet…lots of small meals to keep the cravings at bay. Good luck with all your good intentions for the New Year…

Leave a Reply

