Nuturing Thursday 33

As regular readers may have noticed, I’ve been absent from the blogosphere for a while.

I’ve been suffering from a mystery malaise ~ not ‘flu exactly, although it exhibited some of the symptoms. Extreme body temperatures left me weak and wobbly. I’ve hardly left the house and have spent most of the last fortnight in bed. Thank Heaven for the onesie ~ I’ve now got three. When I was so cold that I couldn’t imagine what warm felt like, I wore one inside another. And yes, I pulled both hoods over my head. It was comforting and before long I was ‘snug as a bug in a rug,’ as my mother used to say.

Indie dog instantly understood that I wasn’t on top form, making do with short walks, when The Artist returned from his Age UK assignments. The rest of the day she spent snuggled by my side, smiling sympathetically and treating me to the odd lick. She’s not really allowed on our bed but we made an exception, for my benefit:

20140213-121334.jpg

When I wasn’t dozing or meditating, I managed to read a couple of novels ~ ‘Until I Met You’, by Lisa Jewel in paperback and Patricia Sands’ ‘The Promise of Provence’ on Kindle. (In my mind there is no debate about whether one format is superior to the other ~ they are equally valid. Whilst I agree that it is nice to hold an actual book in my hands, physically turning the pages, I also find backlit text invaluable, especially when energy saving dim bulbs render the printed word into a grey~on~grey blur.)

Although I’m generally an out~doorsy person, I was wise to stay inside, protected from the elements. Weather conditions across the UK are extreme at the moment. 70 mph gusts of wind, stormy skies and unusually high tides have often prevented ferries from sailing, thus randomly isolating us from the mainland. Ah, well. That’s the price we pay for the privilege of living on The Island, I guess.

But it’s not relentlessly grim, not here anyway ~ although other parts of the country have been devastated by floods and are threatened with more.
Every now and then, sharp winter sunshine pierces clouds heavy with rain ~ and the contrast is literally awe~some. And, although the buffeting wind is chilly, there are intervals of clear blue skies too ~ a portent of a long hot summer, according to long~range forecasts. We’ll see.

Feeling a little better and clad from head to bike~booted toe in thermal layers, I ventured out this morning, accompanied by my faithful companion. I noticed how bright everything looked: pavements, houses and evergreen hedges washed and blow~dried by elemental forces. And, as Indie and I sauntered along a well~worn foot path, I passed catkins swaying on hazel branches and heard birds tweeting merrily, as they gathered material for their nests. Signs that Spring is in the ~ somewhat turbulent ~ air. Unconcerned about global crises, the organic world just goes with the natural flow.

Sounds like a plan to me.
πŸ™‚

Nurturing Thursday is hosted by Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about it, or to find out how you can join in, press this link.

Other ‘Nurturing’ contributors are:

Crowing Crone Joss

Inside the Mind of Isadora

Laurie’s Notes

Pocket Perspectives

And…..finally….to read my earlier ‘Nurturing Thursday’ posts (all 14 of them!) please visit Wightrabbit’s Blog

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

14 thoughts on “Nuturing Thursday 33”

  1. Feeling better makes for a new window to look out of…
    I am glad you are doing well or better….sometimes I think
    being sick is Goddess’s way of pausing us when we aren’t listening….
    I enjoyed your post….there’s always a sense of more to come ….
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    1. Thank you for those uplifting words, maryrose ~ the sun is shining today and my windows are filthy, so I could use some positive motivation to get out there and clean them!!! But I do understand what you mean ~ and I have been low on energy for a while now, so the rest is definitely Mother Nature’s way of slowing me down enough to heal. It’s always great to hear from you, You Matter too. ❀

  2. I’m sorry to hear the dreaded lurgi got you but I’m glad you’re feeling better today. It couldn’t have been a better day to make a recovery after our recent weather could it. I was amazed to see the sun out this morning and even ventured out myself though I did find it nippy.
    Nice to have you back Jacqueline, but take it easy these bugs can really weaken you.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    1. I resisted for as long as I could, David, and my body appreciated the complete rest. It’s lovely out there again today, so I’m planning to wrap up warm and take another walk in the sunshine. You’re right, these insidious little critters can sap your strength ~ it’s a case of two steps forward, one back at the moment. Reading about your week is a tonic that I look forward to! ((Hugs)) to you too ~ but only virtual ones, don’t wish to pass the lurgi on to you! πŸ˜‰

  3. I’m really sorry you’ve been under the weather, but trust you’ll be good as new soon. You have had a lovely little (and warm) companion who I’m sure was glad you were at least home and close. I’m sure he’s been enjoying your company. ox

    1. Thank you, Debra ~ I’m making all the positive moves that I can to nurture myself and raise my energy. Indie is happy to have my company ~ and she’s a great comfort to me too! πŸ™‚

  4. Jacqueline, so sorry to hear you have been feeling ill… Bed rest and a good book keeping snuggly and warm sounds to be the best medicine… I am pleased you are feeling brighter now too… The Sun is actually out here today… a very pleasant surprise after all that rain and strong wind…. We managed to come unscathed though thankfully here in the East Mids, although some roads were flooded on my way to work, and branches have come down from trees… along with fences and shed roofs blown down..
    Good to see you up and about and with your four legged faithful friend πŸ™‚
    Take care of yourself.. Hugs Sue xox

  5. I’m glad you’re feeling better. ‘Tis the season for flu and other bugs to spread. Sometimes you don’t realize how bad you feel until you wake up and notice the “tiredness”. The fatigue can be the worst! I’m also glad you managed to get some sunshine, too! It’s so important to get even a little bit of sun – good vitamins in it and plus it’s a mood booster. πŸ™‚ In any case, it is good to see you blogging again!

    1. Thank you, Corina ~ I’m viewing the illness as a wake~up call to treat myself with more respect! I am still taking things easy, getting out in the sunshine as often as it shines and being gentle with myself. I was over~stretching myself and not really enjoying my life before! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

