Nurturing Thursday 35

20140227-144404.jpg

The ‘artwork’ in the picture above isn’t ‘perfect’.

It isn’t meant to be, that’s the point.

This is a page from my first Art Journal, recently started in an old sketchbook, the first one that came to hand. I’ve no idea whether I’m doing it ‘properly’, and I’ve no particular theme in mind. It’s simply a device to unlock my creative flow, so it has to be spontaneous ~ unplanned and messy.

I can’t remember where I found the quote ~ probably somewhere on Facebook. (My news feed is mostly inspirational updates from the pages I follow.) It resonated with me and at the time I had no intention of ever making it public, so I scribbled down the words and doodled the flowers around them without censure.

This morning, seeking inspiration for my Nurturing Thursday contribution, I flicked through my journal, (which didn’t take long as I haven’t actually done very much!) I considered typing out the message and composing a ‘perfect’ post to accompany it.

But that isn’t the point.

So, in the end I simply photographed the page. ‘Imperfect’ as it might appear, it is, in fact, perfect. Much like life.

Now all I have to do is ignore my inner critic, who is insisting that this is rubbish…. embarrassing ….naive but not in a good way.

And press the ‘publish’ button anyway. πŸ™‚

Nurturing Thursday is hosted by Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about it, or to find out how you can join in, press this link.

Becca has also written three posts on her own Art Journalling experiences, in which she calls herself a ‘perfectionist~in~rehab.’ As you can clearly see, I definitely align with that!

Other ‘Nurturing’ contributors are:

Crowing Crone Joss

Inside the Mind of Isadora

Laurie’s Notes

Pocket Perspectives

And…..finally….to read my earlier ‘Nurturing Thursday’ posts (all 14 of them!) please visit Wightrabbit’s Blog

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

21 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 35”

  1. But it is perfect Jacqueline, and the post is funny. You’ve made me smile, and your flowers look like a table cloth I embroidered once, while recovering from an illness. Love the quote, glad you posted exactly as it is..xx

    1. Thank you, Susan ~ you always give me something to smile about too! πŸ™‚ I remember those embroidered table cloths ~ I used to be fascinated, matching my mother stitch so nearly. And the colours if the silks were sublime, I used to love lining them up like a rainbow! She never taught me to sew ~ she was right, I’m too impatient! πŸ™‚

  2. This is exactly what I needed…
    perfect on every level of thought I have within as they flow out today within words…
    Thank you…I Hope you have a wonderful day…
    and I love the art….I have a sketch book beside me now I know what to do with it πŸ™‚
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    1. Thank you, maryrose, I have found it interesting to allow myself the freedom of imperfection, and it is unlocking my creative flow, little by lttle. Take care, you matter too! πŸ™‚

  3. Ahh that inner critic is visiting you too, flick him off your shoulder and say goodbye, thankyou but you’re no longer needed! And I should practice what I preach πŸ™‚

  4. The quote wouldn’t read any better for being neatly typed. The words wouldn’t penetrate deeper if they were on plain paper. This is eyecatching and guides they eye nicely to the quote.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  5. My daughter is auditioning to join a contemporary dance company, after having quit her job with a ballet company. That was a huge leap of faith to leave a sure thing in favor of finding personal happiness and satisfaction elsewhere. Dance jobs are few and far between. She and I agree, however, that her life has already been enriched by the journey. She’s living a fuller life, going hither and yon, meeting others with whom she shares the same passion for her art. Stepping out of the box has made her hungrier and more engaged in the dance world than when she remained in one place, awaiting assignment of roles from one production to another. She was becoming bored waiting for someone else to push the control buttons of her life.

    1. It can’t have been an easy decision but ‘stepping out of her box’ has freed your daughter and opened up a realm of possibilities for her. What a wonderful lesson for us all! πŸ™‚

  6. Darn that inner critic! I think they are the curse of all creative types. As the artist, only YOU can decide if/when something is “finished” or “good enough” – but I can tell you from experience, it’s rare that that inner critic will ever be completely satisfied…as for mine, I have learned how to tune it out a bit, especially if it’s to the point of making me crazy/unhappy with my creation(s). “Perfect” is an illusion anyway. I’m a huge fan of John Cleese, and you probably at least know of him…he once said, “While you’re being creative, nothing is wrong. There’s no such thing as a mistake, and any drivel may lead to the breakthrough.” So there you have it in a nutshell. πŸ™‚ lol

    1. In the past my inner critic has stopped me from starting a project, never mind finishing, Corina! I love the John Cleese quote ~ never heard it before, even though I have known about his work for a long time ~ he was among the first ‘altenative’ comedians in this country. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

