Nurturing Thurs……oops! Friday 37

20140320-112214.jpg

This advice was shared on Facebook earlier this week, by Meditation for Women and Girls ~ and I’ve decided to take it.

I should have posted my ‘Nurturing Thursday piece yesterday but, despite several (false) starts and carefully wrought revisions, it just wasn’t coming together and after a couple of hours I realised that I wasn’t enjoying it. So I failed to meet my (self~imposed) deadline.

However…….

After he’d finished his work assignments for the day, The Artist and I took the dog for a long walk up a steep hill. It was dull and cold and I forgot to take a photo ~ but here’s one that I snapped about a year ago, neither of them has changed much:

20140321-144350.jpg
When we came home I crocheted some squares together. It felt good to be actually making something useful from my overflowing ~ and random ~ stash of worked~up pieces.

20140321-144857.jpg
While I was doing that, Martin worked on a digital painting and later on a physical one, in oils:

20140321-145259.jpg
And I just messed about, scribbling and doodling in my art journal and adding layers to my papier~mâché:

20140321-150105.jpg

So it turned out to be a Nurturing Thursday after all!

🙂

The ‘Nurturing Thursday’ movement is hosted by Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about it, or to find out how you can join in, (the more, the merrier!) please press this link.

Other ‘Nurturing’ contributors are:

Crowing Crone Joss

Inside the Mind of Isadora

Laurie’s Notes

Pocket Perspectives

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

12 thoughts on “Nurturing Thurs……oops! Friday 37”

  1. Oh Jacqueline — sounds like it ended up being a satisfying and nurturing day. I have learned (yet don’t always remember – so I get reminders, often 😀 ) … when something we are doing is “heavy”, obstacles repeatedly get in the way and we are “struggling” — then step back and take a deep breath and/or break. Perhaps we are not meant to do it “at that specific time” — come back later and try again with a new perspective. If it does not flow — it is a no-go!!

    As far as linking to NT – don’t feel as if there is a specific deadline … link up whenever you are able.

    1. Thank you, Becca ~ I decided that posting late was better than giving up completely and missing a week, and yes, it did turn out to be a great day, so I think I wasn’t meant to stay at my computer and miss out on all that nurturing. (I’m nurturing Martin too, as I’ve been mentally ‘absent’ for a while.) The deadline is one I set myself, to make sure I write at least one post a week, until the inspiration flows in more freely! 🙂

  2. I adore the – going with the flow – day. It takes us in directions that are satisfying in so many ways. Good for you for doing just that. ~~~~ : – )
    There is never a too-late on the nurturing posts as far as I can see. We can all use nurturing at any hour or any day. I love reading all of the posts that the nurtuing sisterhood has to say.
    Namaste …

  3. This just goes to show Jacqueline that if you leave things be they find their own level and so flow nicely … And a Nurturing post was born of this.. Loved your crocheting… 🙂 Enjoy a beautiful week… Love and Blessings dear one.. xox Sue

    1. Life on the Wight seems to have started flowing nicely this week Sue ~ finally!! New energy is flooding in and I’m beginning to enjoy the ride once more. Lovely sunshine here this morning too, so I’m gonna get out there and enjoy! Much love and blessings to you, too ~ I value your support, my friend ❤

      1. Dear Jackqueline, good to hear the Sun is bringing some smiles.. and energy… Here to, today Saturday the sun is warm and skies are blue for a change.. I have been making the most of it in the allotments and enjoying Spring and my blog world had had a break for a couple of days.. xxx Hugs to you and keep on enjoying.. xxx And thank you so much.. Like wise my friend xox

  4. Thank you, Issy ~I feel as though I’ve been wading through muddy waters for too long. Nurturing Thursday has carried me through, with it’s diversity of positive, encouraging posts, so I’m grateful to be a part of it. Namaste 🙂

Leave a Reply

