Nurturing Thursday 39

Several years ago my neighbour presented me with what looked like three dead twigs. He told me they came from a plum tree and showed me how to root them with hormone powder. Securing a clear plastic bag over their pot, I stood them in a sheltered corner and forgot all about them.

Two ‘took’ and I transferred them to larger pots, then ~ when we were landscaping the front garden ~ planted one either end of a raised bed. There they thrived, despite our fickle climate ~ but they never came into bud.

One year I noticed that the foliage was gradually disappearing ~ each morning there were fewer leaves. Wondering if they were being attacked by a parasite, I read up about plum trees ~ but nothing seemed to fit the symptoms. I even went out at night with a torch, to see if I could identify the pest before it destroyed the plants. Eventually I took some half~eaten leaves to the garden centre, to see if they could shed some light on the mystery muncher.

‘Pigeons!’ Declared the owner, emphatically. Well, I’d never have thought of that ~ there are several pairs nesting nearby but I’d discounted them as culprits because I thought they were too fat for the slender young branches to support.

I strung a line of sparkly twirlers between the trunks, hung wind chimes and sun catchers on canes at either side and chased loitering birds off the fence. My efforts were rewarded ~ the trees recovered, grew stronger and the following year three or four flowers appeared on one. The single fruit that survived to maturity was delicious ~ golden yellow, (which surprised me,) literally bursting with sweet, dribbly juice. Delicious! Then last year I picked enough from both to make the filling for a crumble.

A couple of weeks ago the branches were still naked, then a few tight buds appeared. Yesterday, after a few days sunshine, I went outside and was astonished to be greeted by this:

20140403-182737.jpg

20140403-183729.jpg

Magnificent! Mother Nature in full bloom!

Isn’t it amazing what a little bit of care and attention (and a bucket or two of horse~poo) can do?

πŸ˜‰

The ‘Nurturing Thursday’ movement is hosted by Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about it, or to find out how you can join in, (the more, the merrier!) please press this link.

Other ‘Nurturing’ contributors are:

Crowing Crone Joss

Inside the Mind of Isadora

Laurie’s Notes

Pocket Perspectives

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

21 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 39”

  1. Plenty of plum tarts and crumbles this year Jacqueline. I hope you enjoy every mouthful.
    I’m wondering…OK the previous problem was pigeons, but what exactly were they doing? I’m just hoping there aren’t hordes of them about with weedkiller or something tucked under their wings.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    1. Haha! No, David ~ they pecked away the newly forming leaves, don’t ask me now they balanced their fat bodies on the slender branches! We’ve not had the same problem this year ~ word must’ve got out that they’re not welcome here! πŸ˜‰

  2. You aren’t the only one surprised to think of pigeons eating your plum tree leaves. I couldn’t have imagined, but you now have quite a prized tree. I hope you’ll tell us later show many plums fully develop. You’ll be able to make multiple crumbles, I suspect! πŸ™‚

  3. I wouldn’t have thought of pigeons … LOL
    Perseverance in nature and ourselves.

    Wish I could join you for a plum tart. One year someone gave me a bushel (American) of plums — delighted, I made plum cobbler, and plum butter. YUM YUM!

  4. I wish I could find the reason why my basil herbs all die. I havve no luck at all yet I grow an abundant amount of orchids. We all have to do what we do best. It seems like your persevered
    to get this tree to flourish and it has.
    I suppose our lives will flourish and grow full with leaves of different types as we nurture them.
    This is a beautiful post filled with hope. Thank you for sharing and adding me to your list of nurturing sisters. ❀ love ❀
    Namaste ..

    1. Your metaphor for life is lovely Issy, I hadn’t thought of it that way. I’ve no helpful suggestions about your basil ~ mine just gets leggy and goes to seed! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

