Nurturing Thursday 43

This morning I dropped into the local ‘hippie’ shop to pick up some Dragon’s Blood incense. I made my choice and as I headed for the till, my attention was drawn to something on a lower shelf.

20140522-155057.jpg
The assistant called it a ‘Bloodstone’. She couldn’t recall it’s meaning offhand and I didn’t have time to wait while she looked it up. I liked it so ~ although I hadn’t intended to purchase anything other than joss sticks ~ I bought it. It didn’t cost much and, anyway, I’m worth it! πŸ™‚

20140522-160354.jpg
Although I own quite a few, I’ve never had the urge to study the properties of crystals. If I read an interesting article I might choose one specifically, like this Citrine, which I wear as a pendant:

20140522-161247.jpg
But I’m much more likely to be randomly attracted to a lump of rock by it’s unusual shape or colour variation, without really knowing why. But, when I look it it up on the internet, I’m always amazed by the relevance of that stone, at that time.

You would think I’d be used to it by now, it’s happened that often:

20140522-170038.jpg
Here are some of my impulse purchases, protected by The Guardian (a polymer clay warrior that The Artist hand crafted, which always faces our front door.)

Yet my Bloodstone ~ known in olden times as Heliotrope ~ has managed to surprise me yet again! Not only is it beautiful and tactile, it’s also associated with courage, intuition, clear decision~making and blossoming creativity. All of which I could use, right now.

I might tell you more about that another time….. πŸ˜‰

The ‘Nurturing Thursday’ movement is hosted by Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about it, or to find out how you can join in, (the more, the merrier!) please press this link.

Other ‘Nurturing’ contributors are:

Crowing Crone Joss

Inside the Mind of Isadora

Laurie’s Notes

Pocket Perspectives

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

17 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 43”

  1. No reason stones shouldn’t be attracted to us. Many contain metals and we have magnetic qualities….it could be that simple or of course it could be that the ancients knew a lot more than we credit them for considering what they used willow bark for and it took modern doctors a long time to catch up.
    BTW, If you ever see and coffee scented Joss sticks please note the supplier for me. Thank you. x
    xxx Huge Hugs Jacqueline xxx

    1. I’d never thought of it that way, David you could be right. It is interesting how ancient beliefs and remedies can be more effective and even the basis for modern medicines ~ willow bark/aspirin and foxglove/digitalis are good examples, if my memory serves me well. I’ll keep a look out for coffee scented joss sticks and forward the details. But……..call me old fashioned…..couldn’t you just brew a pot of coffee? πŸ˜‰ (((Hugs and giggles!))) x

    1. ‘Used to sort of use them’? You’re definitely my kinda gal, Gilly! I ‘sort of’ use almost everything, from Angel Cards and Astrology to Zen Meditation!! I love lapis too ~ such a vibrant colour, I can see that it would suit you. But I’m going to have to Google what ‘rutilated’ means ~ clearly I’m no expert! πŸ˜‰

  2. I am a fan of bloodstone. One time Paul and I visited a little shop with the intention of looking for a piece of bloodstone. As we walked around the store, picking up this and that, the owner walked up to me and offered me a free piece of bloodstone. I keep the stone next to my desk on my window sill.
    I also love citrine. I have citrine earrings and a nice chunk of it sitting in my bedroom. Seems we are drawn to the same stones. πŸ™‚

    1. Another thing we have in common, Brenda ~ we are drawn to the same rocks! The shop owner’s gift of bloodstone clearly had your name on it. I had no idea that it has so many properties, such as clearing negative environmental energy ~ so it’s a good idea to keep it on your desk. I don’t think I’ll be placing mine under my pillow, even if it does induce dreaming. Way too sharp and lumpy! I wear my citrine in a little spiral cage strung with cord ~ but I’d like to design a customised wire setting that will curve around and fit it perfectly. πŸ™‚

    1. Wow Susan! You’ve compiled an impressive list of minerals and their properties there! I’m going to have to go back and take a longer look, and I’ll definitely be referring to it often, as I tend to forget the more in~depth info I read. It’s a fascinating subject, one which I would love to study moe deeply ~ and it looks as though I might soon have the time! Wishing you a great weekend, too πŸ™‚ x

      1. Oh I am so pleased you took a peek Jacqueline, and you liked what you saw.. there are still many crystals I have not complied, Its one of those lists I keep meaning to add to, and then never get around to doing.. But its a good index for starters.. xxx πŸ™‚ Enjoy your weekend xxx Hugs back Sue

  3. I always wonder how people could not be attracted to or awed by rocks, crystals and fossils. I believe they are a direct connection to the divine. They are like little presents for us from Spirit. So glad there are others like you who feel the same.
    Blessings,
    Susan

    1. I love your description of minerals as gifts from Spirit, Susan ~ I’ll remember that whenever another one turns up to assist me! Small children, boys in particular, are always picking up stones and pebbles ~ my grandson has a field day when he comes to visit as we have large areas of the garden covered in gravel, which includes sea~shells and tiny fossils. thank you for dropping by and taking the time to comment! πŸ™‚

  4. I love your impulse purchases! They are beautiful and it would be interesting to learn more them and their properties. But it’s nice just to feel their inspiration. πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, Debra ~ I will be learning more about them, through Sue Dreamwalker and susanlanda’s web pages. Whatever their properties, I just love to hold and look at them, imagining how long they’ve been about! πŸ˜‰

  5. What a great find! I love the scent of dragon’s blood, though it can be difficult to find around here. I am also drawn to stones and crystals, and have used them a few times to good effect. I’ve made several amulets for friends with various stones, depending on what they needed at the time (protection, luck, etc.) I’m drawn to hematite and amethyst, although I have used labradorite and jade, too. I still have a quartz focusing crystal that helps center me from time to time. It’s amazing the different resonances that different stones give off.

    When I lived in Indiana, there used to be the best shop there where I could walk inside and almost (sounds crazy, but true) feel “buzzed” from all of the different energies of the rocks! Some people are more sensitive to the vibrations than others, though I will wager you are probably one of the more sensitive ones, Jacqueline. If you decide to use them regularly, it’s important to cleanse them periodically, as they can absorb negative energies and such from the environment (as well as people!). πŸ™‚

    I charge my quartz on a bed of sea salt in a window under a full moon, and cleanse it in a nearby stream. Running water is good, especially naturally occurring creeks or springs. Anyway, don’t mean to ramble. But you touched on a subject I love to talk about. Hehehe.

Leave a Reply

