Nurturing Thursday 44

20140529-122558-44758306.jpg

I’m usually an optimistic person, taking the absurdities of life in my stride and always looking for ways to turn negative events into positives.

As if to test my upbeat spirit The Universe has lobbed a couple of unusual challenges my way, recently. (A long~term injury and redundancy from work ~ nothing that won’t sort itself out with time and patience. See what I mean? My middle name should be ‘Polyanna’!)

I’ve done all I can for now ~ but waiting can be wearing and I’ve been ‘down in the dumps’ this morning. It’s a good job it’s Nurturing Thursday, then! 😉

I’ve trawled though my inspirational and uplifting quotes and chosen the one above, to remind me to smile and breathe. Despite my impatience for a satisfactory resolution that would enable me to get on with life, I can only live in the moment. And it is wonderful.

The clouds have cleared, the sun is doing it’s best to shine and my garden’s flourishing. Materials to turn our outside building into a studio have been delivered and building work is already under way. I don’t even have to cook tonight ~ we’ve decided to treat ourselves to a Chinese take~away.

I have a roof over my head, clothes in my closet and food on my table (well I will have, as soon as The Ming Garden opens!) And, as if that wasn’t enough to cheer me up, I’m totally adored by a loving man and a fox terrier.

What more could any woman wish for? Life isn’t so doom~laden, after all! 🙂

With grateful thanks to Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea’, for hosting The ‘Nurturing Thursday’ movement. To read more about it, or to find out how you can join in, (the more, the merrier!) please press this link.

Other regular ‘Nurturing’ contributors are:

Crowing Crone Joss

Inside the Mind of Isadora

Laurie’s Notes

Pocket Perspectives

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

7 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 44”

    1. I’ve been gently mocked for my optimism, Gilly ~ but I can’t help it, that’s just the way I am. It doesn’t mean that I’m unrealistic or viewing life through rose~tinted specs, I find I can’t wallow in self~pity for long however hard I try!! 😉

  1. At times I think the optimistic get more challenges hurled their way to attempt to change them to the opposite … but true to yourself, you turned the tide with recognition and appreciation for those important things that are often taken for granted. Bravo!! 😀

  2. Thank you, Becca ~ you make an interesting point, I hadn’t looked at it that way, (through my rose~tinted lenses!) I’ve learned from past experience that if I don’t follow my true nature, it doesn’t go well and that takes much more effort to recover from. I have so many things to be grateful for, once I start looking for them, so I can never be miserable for long! 🙂

  3. This is one of my favorite quotes from Thich Nhat Hanh.
    We need too look at negatives as passing phases to help us grow
    into stronger spriritual beings. Our present moment will soon be gone,
    it is best to BE in it.
    Namaste …

Leave a Reply

