Old Gaffers

I’m making a commitment to blog more regularly, starting from now.

It’s tricky to know where to begin, so I thought I’d just upload a few photos I snapped on my phone, on Sunday, when we walked the dog along to Yarmouth, where the Old Gaffers Festival was being held. http://www.yarmoutholdgaffersfestival.co.uk/

20140602-162324-59004474.jpg
Indie and I posing on the coastal path, on the way to Yarmouth.

When we reached the ancient town the atmosphere was buzzing, yet relaxed. We were early and it wasn’t too crowded, so we could wander about unhurried, soaking up the festival vibe.

Markets stalls and continental food concessions lined the narrow streets. Classic vehicles and traction engines were exhibited; there were funfair rides for the children, an Art tent and craft stalls. Morris dancers performed to traditional mediaeval music, in the mediaeval square. Groovy!

Although it was more like the weather for ice~cream, I couldn’t resist a warm crab pastie ~ an interesting fusion that I’d never come across before. Martin declined to join me ~ for him the word ‘pastie’ describes only one form of baked goods and that has steak and potato in it and comes from Cornwall! Traditional or not, I enjoyed my adventurous choice. As did indie:

20140602-164453-60293320.jpg
(I scoffed most of it, she only had a little nibble.)

Finally, here’s Martin inspecting a classic Royal Enfield motorbike ~ I know that’s what it is because I recognise the logo; we used to own an Enfield Bullet:

20140602-165026-60626909.jpg

It was a spur of the moment decision to visit the Old Gaffers Festival and I’m happy we made it!

My first blogpost for June ~ done! That wasn’t so hard 🙂

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

5 thoughts on “Old Gaffers”

  1. Sounds like a great day…except maybe for the youngsters. Fancy parents putting them on ‘unfair’ rides, a tad cruel on a festival day I think. Still, maybe they enjoyed the ice cream and crepes instead.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  2. Haha, David ~ I knew there was a typo that I should have corrected before pressing ‘publish’…..then I got distracted and forgot.Thank you for pointing it out. It was a good day ~ I’m actively focusing on those as there have been far too many so~so ones in the past. Huge (((Hugs)) to you too! Xxx

  3. That sounds like a fun day! The coastal path looks interesting and I notice it looks like it goes along a beach. Do you ever beach comb for shells or other such stuff? I bet the market with its stalls and the medieval music was a treat. 🙂 I’m glad you went, so that you could take us along with you! Mmmmm crab pastie sounds divine (love crab meat!). Hope Martin had a good time too!

Leave a Reply

