Nurturing Thursday 47

20140626-092102-33662551.jpg

I’m posting this to myself.

Now that I’m retired and free from external pressures, I’ve noticed that I’m my harshest critic ~ becoming disillusioned when I can’t meet my self~imposed ‘concept of perfection’.

I’m guessing I’m not the only one beating myself up for not doing something I haven’t not done yet! 😉

This is not a very nurturing habit. So, from now on, I’m breaking my own rules and being perfectly happy with the way that I am.

And, d’you know what?

Everything that has to be done always gets done!
🙂

With grateful thanks to Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog,’On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea’, for hosting The ‘Nurturing Thursday’ movement. To read more about it, or to find out how you can join in, (the more, the merrier!) please press this link.

Other regular ‘Nurturing’ contributors are:

Crowing Crone Joss

Inside the Mind of Isadora

Laurie’s Notes

Pocket Perspectives

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

11 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 47”

  1. I think you’ve made an excellent resolve! When we reach retirement, I think it ought to be an absolute “law” that we let go of expectations! And especially expectations that are too harsh and make us feel bad. My granddaughter’s can’t stop singing the title song from the Disney movie Frozen. It sticks in my head, “Let it go! Let it go…” 🙂

    1. A fulfilling retirement requires some re~alignment, Debra, even when you’ve already downshifted to part~time, as we had. We’re so lucky that we’ve got a whole heap of interests to occupy us ~ it’s too easy to end up committing to help others, because you’re perceived as ‘doing nothing’! ‘Letting go’ makes sense, but it’s not welsh easy! 🙂

  2. I believe for most of us — this is one of the most difficult. Gentle reminders to be kind to ourselves, as we would want our friends to be to themselves. 😀

  3. Isn’t it funny how we are often our own worst enemies? I do this, too, although I’ve found that the more you are aware of it, the easier it becomes to not do it anymore. We all need reminders like this though. Thanks for posting it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

