Nurturing Thursday 48

We’re in the throes of some exciting renovation work at the moment, (I’ll reveal what and why in due course. :)) Over the past few weeks, my Kitchen Courtyard has become less a haven of tranquility, more of a building site:

20140703-101145-36705779.jpg

With ‘men at work’ in my garden, the pots and raised beds are increasingly hard to reach, so ~ apart from regular watering and the odd sprinkling of Epsom salts ~ my plants have been pretty much left to their own devices. And It doesn’t seem to have done them any harm:

20140703-102329-37409166.jpg

In fact, despite dust and disruption they are positively thriving, as you can see:

20140703-102646-37606555.jpg

One again Mother Nature has it covered ~ like she did with our plum trees and the young family of blackbirds. who nested in our ivy.

All I have to do is lend her a hand and be patient, then sit back amongst the rubble and (literally) enjoy the fruits of her labours:

20140703-125310-46390692.jpg

Home~grown Summer berry smoothie, mmmmmm, divine ~ and Nurturing on so many levels. Cheers!
πŸ™‚

With grateful thanks to Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog ‘On Stunning! I hadn’t noticed how dark the room used to be; how ‘warm and cosy’ had morphed into ‘dismal and depressing’ over time. Wings with Buttercup Tea’, for hosting The ‘Nurturing Thursday’ movement. To read more about it, or to find out how you can join in, (the more, the merrier!) please press this link.

Other regular ‘Nurturing’ contributors are:

Crowing Crone Joss

Inside the Mind of Isadora

Laurie’s Notes

Pocket Perspectives

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

16 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 48”

  1. OK Jacqueline, International Woman of Mystery. Wearing my Sheerluck Holmes hat I deduce you’re having a wall built and the wall will have a roof. That leads me to believe there’s more than one wall which might possibly be an extension?????
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    1. Ah, Sheer, dear fellow, I’m afraid your luck is out. Your powers of deduction are on the right track, in that we have built a wall. An inside wall…….outside……..???? πŸ˜‰
      (((Huge Hugs)))

  2. The smoothie is beautiful. Tell me about using Epsom Salts in your garden. What do you use it for? I have a plum tree filled with fruit but it has some kind of bug. It may too late to fix it this year but I will be looking for organic, clean remedies next year. Yummy blueberries…. πŸ™‚

    1. It was a great way to start the day, Brenda. When planting trees and shrubs I add a tablespoon of Epsom Salts (ordered in bulk from the supplier) into the hole and place the plant on top. With bedding plants and vegetables, I sprinkle a handful over the soil and water it in. During the season I water once a fortnight with a tablespoon of salts dissolved in a full watering can. The magnesium makes the plants so green and abundant, it’s an amazing natural product. I also bathe in it myself! I’m not sure about the plum moth ~ we had some kind of pest destroying our meagre crop last year. I bought a spray this year, but haven’t used because it says in the small print, that it’s harmful to bees. 😦

  3. Oh but your blueberries look heavenly! My little bush doesn’t look nearly as healthy at the moment. I don’t think it’s getting enough water, and I tend to forget about it. Neglect! *sigh* I hope you’ll be able to share some photos from your construction project! I love renovation. πŸ™‚

    1. Unusually for The UK, we’ve had no rain for ages, so my plants can look droopy if I forget to water them too, Debra! I was advised to have two blueberry bushes, of differing varieties to ensure pollination. This one’s buddy failed to thrive but it doesn’t seem to have stopped it from fruiting and the are delicious, if a little tart! I’m going to share more about the building work, as it progresses. It’s an exciting project for us! πŸ˜‰

  4. I suppose it is all about holding the belief that, ” If you cannot change it, how could you make peace with it?”

    The berries and the smoothie do look great.

    Shakti

  5. Ooo yummy! Did I spy a red raspberry, too? Your blueberries look divine. I know what it is like to have a small space that you want to be full of flowers and plants full of building materials and various gardening stuff instead. BUT all good projects take time to do them right, and have the right tools and materials for the job, so I’m looking forward to seeing what your project looks like when it’s finished. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

