Saturday Show and Tell #1

This summer most of our time, energy and spare cash have been expended on an outside building project

We’ve been busy transforming this:

20140801-084147-31307084.jpg
…..into this:

20140801-064009-24009952.jpg

and this:

20140801-084255-31375429.jpg
…..into this:

20140801-064135-24095798.jpg

20140801-064136-24096519.jpg

20140801-064137-24097253.jpg

When The Artist and I were house~hunting ten years ago, a separate outbuilding was one of our top priorities. To tick this ‘must~have’ box, whilst keeping within our budget, we chose a property in need of serious upgrading. Over the years we’ve installed central heating, a bespoke kitchen and modern bathroom; have fenced and landscaped the gardens and erected a pergola to shelter our vintage car and Harley Davidson.

In the meantime the ‘brick~built outhouse’, (no, it’s not a primitive toilet ~ that’s how the agents described the freestanding workshop at the rear,) became a ‘glory hole’, where we shoved anything and everything we couldn’t find a proper home for: toolkits and parts of the old car, which Martin is ‘resto~modding’ (more about that soon); garden implements, found materials and random objects that ‘might just come in handy one day’. I thought he’d photographed the chaos before we started ~ but it was dank, dingy and ‘way too disruptive’ for his perfectionist Virgo nature. Too late now but never mind ~ it was a hovel, trust me!

In my childhood home there was a narrow room which housed two Labradors, a huge chest freezer, the downstairs loo, old coats and our welly boots. My step father ~ a vet ~ refused to refer to it as the ‘back passage’, even though that’s basically what it was. The phrase had connotations which always made him snigger, so he christened it ‘the caboodle’. In honour of this amazing man and because our last name begins with a ‘K’, we’ve decided to name our bright new space ‘The Kaboodle’.

But it’s not going to be a dog house, or a dumping ground. The Artist and I spent most of last weekend moving our ‘stuff’ in.

20140801-070918-25758853.jpg

20140801-074324-27804467.jpg

20140801-074323-27803715.jpg
As you can see there’s still masses to sort out ~ but it was my birthday on Friday, so we had to take some time out to celebrate! πŸ˜‰

Now a new month has dawned and my horoscope predicts that this is an auspicious day to embark on exciting projects. So it’s time to shape up and get serious about our new art studio and mini~gallery. I’ve waited long enough for this and now the time has come…..

So if anybody needs me from now on, I’ll be in my Kaboodle.
πŸ™‚

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

13 thoughts on “Saturday Show and Tell #1”

  1. Yes, I know it’s Friday ~ got over~excited and pressed ‘publish’ too soon. Still, it’s good to get ahead for once ~ better than being ‘like the cow’s tail’ as my old Dad used to say. (Behind!) πŸ˜‰

  2. Well done on the completion and congratulations on achieving your long held dream of a studio space. Belated Penblwydd Hapus on the birthday. You must be all of 29 now.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    1. Thank you for the lovely Welsh greeting, David ~ you old charmer you! I guess you must have been speaking to The Artist ~ he’s been telling people I’m 29 for the last 20 years (and I was *whispers* 42 when we met!) πŸ˜‰ (((Massive Hugs)))

  3. Happy belated birthday, Jacqueline…hope it was a good one! Today is one of my sister’s birthday. What a lovely space you have created. I know it takes a lot of time and energy…not to mention money to do remodeling…you’ve done a great job. Nice to be visiting over here again.

  4. lovely blog, photos, comments, my studio is a renovated old barn and we have a hut thats snoozable in, a duck house storage shed, I love out buildings and nooks and crannies like that πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Liz ~ yes, I’m a sucker for quaint, characterful buildings too, even though I know they have their difficulties. I’m loving my quirky kaboodle ~ though now that I’ve seen your studio I’d love an upstairs in mine too! πŸ™‚

  5. Wow. Total transformation. What a lovely space yall have created for yourselves. I’m impressed.
    By the way, a belated happy birthday to you dear one. I hope your day was filled with kindness, knowing, killer fun, and keenness. (I’m attempting to stick to the K’s) πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Brenda ~ it’s even better now I’ve got all my art materials organised. Next step is to hang some of Martin’s pictures, then to actually get down to work! I did have a birthday fit for a ‘King’! (You’re right, it is hard to find appropriate words beginning with ‘K’ ~ I did think of kickass! but then wondered if that’s too rude!) πŸ˜‰

  6. Oh, I love your name for it! “Kaboodle” has such a cheery sound when you say it. πŸ˜€ Here, we use it in the phrase “The whole kit and kaboodle” to mean the entirety of a thing. I think it’s awesome what you two have done with the space. Happy belated birthday, too! I hope it was full of everything that makes you happy.

    1. Thank you, Corina ~ we have the ‘kit and kaboodle’ saying, here too, another reason for choosing it! I’m surprised at how well the conversion worked out and I really do love the result. It’s changed the way we use our house too, now that we no longer have to fight our way through piles of art materials to find any thing! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

