Nurturing Thursday 53

This morning I travelled across the island to Bembridge, for my six~monthly dental check~up.

Attending these appointments always brings to mind the monologue ‘I Wish I’d Looked After Me Teeth’ by English poet, Pam Ayres MBE. (I’ve tried to add the link to the poem on her official website, with no luck ~ but you can easily find it if you google the title.)

Pam became famous after she appeared on the British talent show ‘Opportunity Knocks’ in 1975 and is still well known for her humorous and insightful monologues on life.

This one, in particular, struck a chord with me and I must have heeded Pam’s dire warning, because the dentist told me that I require no further treatment this time. My hygienist is also happy with the condition of my gnashers and I doesn’t wish to see me for another year. Yay!

I’m so glad I looked after my teeth!
🙂

With thanks to Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog,’On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea’, for hosting The ‘Nurturing Thursday’ movement. To read more about it, or to find out how you can join in, (the more, the merrier!) please press this link.

Other regular ‘Nurturing’ contributors are:

Crowing Crone Joss

Inside the Mind of Isadora

Laurie’s Notes

Pocket Perspectives

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

6 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 53”

  1. And then there are those like me. I take excellent care of my teeth but they are not healthy. My teeth are soft and I have a lot of bone loss. BUT in my body my body density is very good. Go figure!! 🙂

    1. Mine weren’t brilliant in the past Brenda ~ but we started using a great toothpaste a couple of years ago and it seems to have had some good effects, even at our advanced ages! It’s Oral B Complete ~ don’t know if you get it in the States. 🙂

Leave a Reply

