Nurturing Thursday 54

“Happiness consists not of having, but of being. It is a warm glow of the heart at peace with itself.”
― David O. McKay

On Friday August 8th, (8.8) I participated in an on~line global meditation for Peace, led by Deepak Chopra. Over 100,000 people joined in and shivers ran down my spine, as people from all over the globe introduced themselves with the words, ‘I am Peace.’

#IAMPEACE was trending on twitter and I changed my Facebook profile picture to this symbol, provided for that purpose by The Chopra Center:

IMG_1196.JPG

I’ve always been a committed pacifist ~ even as a little girl I could see no sense in fighting or arguing. It seems such a waste of time and doesn’t really solve anything, so I try my best not to. But, during the introduction to the mediation, I realised that there are areas of friction in my life ~ and now that I know about them, I have to nurture my happiness by tackling them!

Deepak tells us that ~ when we are at peace within ourselves ~ all sentient beings will sense those vibrations and be calm in our presence. So, to connect with this aspect of inner joy (or at least try to,) I’ve been continuing my daily practice ~ meditating to the Sanskrit mantra ‘Shanti Hum.’ (I am peace.)

‘This level of peace is the core of stillness within that gives us steadiness and quiet comfort when circumstances in our life may be confusing, as well as when times are happy and fulfilling. This spiritual peace is our calm center that keeps our life in balance.’
From Oprah and Deepak ‘Expanding Your Happiness, 21 Day Meditation Challenge.’ Day 3.

No matter what the effect it has on warring factions around the World, last Friday’s on~line Global event was an incredibly powerful experience for me. So, I’ll leave you with these hopes for mankind, which brought the guided meditation to a close:

‘Peace, Harmony, Laughter, Love

🙂

With grateful thanks to Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog,’On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea’, for hosting The ‘Nurturing Thursday’ movement. To read more about it, or to find out how you can join in, (the more, the merrier!) please press this link.

Other regular ‘Nurturing’ contributors are:

Crowing Crone Joss

Inside the Mind of Isadora

Laurie’s Notes

Pocket Perspectives

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

7 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 54”

  1. I may be overstepping the mark here Jacqueline and if so I apologise. But, as a committed pacifist I wonder if you’d perhaps write a piece I can use on my blog maybe saying how it started and how you envisage peace changing the world. In fact ignore that, a piece on anything to do with the world at peace in any way you like. What injustices upset you-anything. The blog in question is my Buthidars http://lorddavidprosser1.wordpress.com/ and you can either do a piece for your blog which I can then reblog, or send it to me at mikproju@talktalk.net where I can put it straight on.
    Your refusal won’t offend.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

