What wouldn’t I give…..

…..to grow old in a place like this:

IMG_1032.PNG

‘This afternoon there were some beasty storms pushing in from the southwest.
As the largest storm of the day cleared away it let out a few final strikes as if to wave goodbye.’ Jamie Russell

Photograph reproduced by kind permission of ISLAND VISIONS PHOTOGRAPHY

It’s been a week of thunderbolts and lightning, here on the Isle of Wight.

In the early hours of Tuesday morning I was startled awake by a ferocious storm building up directly overhead. It raged on for ages ~ during which time The Artist slept soundly and Indie dashed round the house, barking to scare it away. She wouldn’t even settle on our bed, or scuttle under the covers like I thought she would when I allowed her upstairs. Ears standing to attention, she kept watch out of the bedroom window long after the last flash and bang had shaken the house to it’s foundations.

It caused quite a buzz in the village but, surprisingly, no damage ~ although the new landlord of a local hostelry was apparently hit by lightning whilst on the phone. Thankfully he suffered no ill effects ~ but I guess his takings might have risen since his story appeared on the front of the local newspaper! ๐Ÿ˜‰

The above image, of a unique phenomenon above Culver Down, was captured and posted on Facebook by super~talented Island photographer, Jamie Russell. It totally blew me away.

And made me so grateful that I am growing old in an awesome place like this!

๐Ÿ™‚

Jamie’s highly commended photographs have appeared in books, magazines, several national newspapers and on the BBC television programme, ‘The Sky at Night’. To view/purchase/learn more about his incredible passion please visit Island Visions Photography

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! ๐Ÿ˜

9 thoughts on “What wouldn’t I give…..”

    1. You’re so right, Joceline! Every day I find myself saying how much I love this Island and how grateful I am that we have found the perfect spot to spend our golden years. Jamie is supremely talented and passionate about what he does ~ it’s a pleasure to share his work ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. A beautiful photo .. Always good to see the rainbow after a storm Jacqueline.. Here too in Eng, we have had unusual weather… A Whirl wind took some roofs off not far away from us.. And its gone so cold and wet… A big shock after the balm of Sept.. xxx

    1. It is, Sue ~ I was immediately attracted to the cosmic symbolism of this particular shot and if Island Visions ever produce it for sale, I’m definitely going to buy myself a copy! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

