Kaboodle Doodle No. 4

Today, as promised, I’m going to show you some actual doodles!

Drawing is not my favourite art form ~ as you can see, it doesn’t come naturally to me:

IMG_1046-1.JPG

But I am working on developing the skill, with practical advice from The Artist:

IMG_1045.JPG

Here are some of the exercises he suggested, to help me draw basic shapes:

IMG_1047.JPG

IMG_1052.JPG

IMG_1049.JPG

IMG_1050.JPG

And straight lines:

IMG_0907.JPG
Oh dear ~ epic fail! I’d better do that one again, (and again…..and again!) 😦

Martin’s input has definitely helped me to improve, though:

IMG_1051.JPG

IMG_1056-0.JPG
And I’m satisfied with my progress so far.

My next challenge will be to sketch more complex subject matter ~ I’ll let you know how that works out!
πŸ™‚

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

12 thoughts on “Kaboodle Doodle No. 4”

  1. Great progress! well done. My favorite exercise is to draw something left handed (if you are right handed) A truly mind bending exercise BUT you will be amazed at the results!
    Sam Flashman πŸ˜€

    1. Hi Sam ~ great to hear from you! Yes, I have done the left hand drawing thing on a short course I took ages ago ~ maybe I’ll share the results another time. I also drew from photographs turned upside down to break me of the habit of assuming what things looked like, rather than drawing what I saw. It really isn’t my forte, which is why I need the practice! Xxx πŸ™‚

  2. my daughters draw with ease but it takes me all my time to draw a stick man with the same size limbs – more practice i think πŸ˜€

    1. Well, drawing stick men didn’t do Lowry’s reputation any harm, Beverly! But I do feel that this is a good thing to practice as it makes me look at the proportions of the things that I’m drawing. Still not that keen on it, though! πŸ™‚

      1. I am trying to get one of my daughters to teach me how to draw trees. I can do a splodgy green tree but i would love to be able to draw a spindly tree that actually looked like one – maybe one day. πŸ™‚

  3. I actually liked your first attempt, Jacqueline, and sometimes free-flow work is most satisfying. Your work is unique, don’t fit a mould, enough other people do that….. be you… xx

    1. Thank you, Susan, I’m generally a free flowing kinda gal but I think it’s important to get this skill pinned down, so I’ll keep practising until my attempts loosen up! πŸ™‚

  4. Wonderful exercises and you are so lucky to have an artist right there at your fingertips (haha) to help guide you and give you tips! The thing about drawing, is that like anything, you have to practice to get good at it. Practice, practice, practice. πŸ™‚ There is a really good book called “Drawing on the right side of the brain” by Betty Edwards, that really shows you how to “look” at things with an artist’s eye. It takes practice (that word again) but you can definitely learn to turn it on and off, and it makes drawing complex things much easier once you learn to recognize everything as shapes and shadows. There are some very good drawing exercises in the book, too. Your local library may even have a copy, but in case they don’t: http://www.amazon.com/Drawing-Right-Side-Brain-Definitive/dp/1585429201

Leave a Reply

