Mixed Messages and Drunken Sailors

I’ve been having some trouble with my email.

I suspect it has something to do with updating this iPad to the latest Apple Operating System. For a while my shopping lists and the content of old messages appeared as the subject matter of new ones (??) Then, before my very eyes, they all blinked out of existence. Pft! just like that.

It wasn’t broke ’til they fixed it. 😦

Although I’ve given it my best shot, I may not have been successful in answering my readers’ lovely comments ~ or commenting on other blogs myself. Which is sad, because I enjoy being part of this thriving on~line community and I appreciate every word of encouragement I receive. So please bear with me until the techno~gremlins get over their hissy fit. πŸ™‚

On a lighter note, it’s the start of yet another month and I’ve promised’ Susan Jane Jones a contribution to her ‘Giggle Blog’ series. Apparently I inspired her to create it in the first place, because I commented (those were the days) that her good natured posts make me laugh! πŸ™‚

So here goes:

I’ve recently joined a local group called ‘Singabout’, the membership of which includes several people in their seventies and eighties ~ some with age~related illnesses and conditions, accompanied by their carers. We sing a wide range of music, play percussion instruments and we even have our own banjo band. It’s a hoot ~ when I’m there I feel as if I’m back at school!

On my first week the leader, Sandy, asked what we’d like to sing and the little old lady next to me requested ‘the one with the trollops, please.’
‘”What Shall We Do With The Drunken Sailor”?’ said Sandy, ‘that’s a good one, Millie, we can sing all the different parts.’
Turning to me she said, ‘I know you’re new and I promised you wouldn’t have to do anything complicated ~ but how do you fancy being a trollop?’
‘I don’t know,’ I replied, laughing, ‘I’ve never been asked that before.’
Beside me Millie piped up:
‘Well you have to start somewhere, dear!’

That’s me put firmly in my place, LOL!

trollop noun ~ a disreputable girl or woman.

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

13 thoughts on “Mixed Messages and Drunken Sailors”

      1. That’s what I do, Jacqueline. When something makes me laugh, it goes to the back of my mind, or I scribble it down, ready for the next giggle blog….. It is fun, you’re right.

  1. It was quite fun being a trollop, Gayle ~ though I’d never heard that verse of this old sea shanty before! I have read a couple of your lovely poems recently, so clearly I wm lagging behind πŸ™‚

  2. I think it’s GREAT that you’re getting outside of your comfort zone and doing something new! Sounds like lots of fun and it gives you new stories to share with all of us, so Yay! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

