Nurturing Thursday 65

Last month I became entitled to the State Retirement Pension, which I had contributed towards throughout my working life. I also received a concessionary pass, which allows me free bus travel ~ anywhere in the country ~ after 9.30 a.m.

IMG_0929.JPG
I’m actually quite pleased with this photo ~ if you could see my passport and driving licence you’d understand why! 😉

I’ve already ‘nipped’ into town, without having to worry about the traffic or finding somewhere to park. And the over~heard conversations of other passengers are intriguing. Great short~story material!

Now that I no longer have to work, I’ve been able to take part in some daytime activities such as ‘Singabout’ classes and a ‘coffee and cake’ afternoon. I’ve also joined a local branch of the Womens Institute ~ where the retiring president is an incredible eighty~five years old.
‘We need young people like you,’ she told me at my first meeting ~ a double boost to my morale, from a lady with more creative energy than many people half her age!

In a couple of hours I’m being picked up and taken to Christmas Lunch at a posh hotel on the seafront. So I must don my glad rags, slap on some lippy and make sure that I have enough cash to treat myself to whatever takes my fancy.

I’m looking forward to an interesting afternoon, having fun getting to know other W.I. members and nurturing new friendships within this active group of women.

I’m happy to report that you’re wrong, Mick Jagger ~ from my experience, so far anyway, getting old is not a drag at all!
🙂

Nurturing Thursday is hosted by Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about it, or to find out how you can join in, press this link.

Other ‘Nurturing’ contributors are:

Crowing Crone Joss

Inside the Mind of Isadora

Laurie’s Notes

Pocket Perspectives

Mazeepuran

Tea and Paper

Meg Evans

Bowl of Cherries

Hugmamma

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

5 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 65”

  1. Swings and roundabouts Dear Jacqueline, I’m not restricted with time of travel in my Country which means I don’t have to travel with crowds and can go anywhere, of course my bus pass stops at the borders of your Country. In your Country you can travel much further than I can but have the restricted times.
    I hop you enjoy the retirement ( I’m sure you will) and the free travel. When you travel to Chester with your pass I’ll cross the border with mine and buy you tea.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  2. Retirement is lovely isn’t it.. and congrats in getting your bus pass.. I am not eligible yet for another 5 years.. LOL.. Yet at one time you could get it at 60, but the rules here have changed..
    Enjoy your travel time.. and Enjoy your Christmas shopping Days.. Love Sue xx

  3. We oldie but goodies need to spread the word…”Life is great since we can see more clearly, now that we’ve removed youth’s dark glasses.” Not so hip to always live in the dark.

Leave a Reply

