Nurturing Thursday 66

In these sophisticated days of electronic wizardry, it’s hard to imagine/remember life before the advent of satellite technology: no internet, emails, mobile phones, FaceTime or Skype.

Recently I was discussing with a friend how I kept in touch with my mother, when I moved away from home in the early seventies. In those days I didn’t even have a landline. To hear her voice I had to walk half a mile to the nearest public telephone ~ which devoured coins at an alarming rate during the daytime. Calls were cheaper in the evening ~ but by then my pre~schooler and baby were tucked up in bed, their sailor father often at sea or on duty.

Mum and I stayed in contact by exchanging regular letters ~ which she expected to be ‘newsy and interesting’. I loved receiving hers ~ scanning them quickly as soon as they arrived, re~reading them later when the children were asleep, and again whenever I felt in need of a hug. And, as I went about my day, I’d make a mental list of things to tell her when I replied. Looking back I can appreciate how these tangible expressions of love nurtured our connection, even though we only met up twice a year.

A few days ago , on her blog Streams of Consciousness, author Brenda Marroy invited her readers to take part in her ‘Heart Medicine’ project. Here’s how she explains it:

In September, 2013, I developed a project I called Heart Medicine. I bought thirty all-purpose, inexpensive greeting cards and every morning during the month I addressed a card to someone I was thinking about. Each of the thirty cards went to a different person and each card had a hand-written personal note from me.

The purpose of the note was to let the person know how special he/she was. If I wasn’t thinking of anyone in particular, I would sit quietly, take a couple of deep breaths, and ask Spirit to please let me know who needed to be remembered.

The results from doing this project were:

I received many cards, phone calls, emails, and messages on Facebook from the recipients of the cards. The messages were all pretty much the same. They were, “Thank you for thinking of me. You made my day.” “I needed to hear what you had to say about me.” ” I did not know I was that special to anyone.”
People’s hearts gladdened by receiving a personal hand-written note. In this age of texting, emails, and all the other impersonal ways we use to communicate, a hand-written note is appreciated.
I felt joy knowing the project helped to gladden people’s’ heart. It truly was medicine for the heart
Upon receiving my impromptu card, many went out and bought a card and sent it to someone they were thinking about.
I am going to repeat this project in 2015 along with the “You Matter Because” project. If you have not yet seen this campaign please check out you matter on internet. It is a worthwhile project and I can only imagine what could happen if we all got involved in sending out these cards. (The “you matter because” cards can be printed for free. )

I am putting out a challenge to my readers to pick one or both of the above projects for 2015. See what happens when you begin to send out heartfelt personal messages to people who are not expecting them. If you need more information on the Heart Medicine project, feel free to contact me.

Remembering my excitement when an envelope bearing that familiar handwriting arrived, I’ve decided to take up Brenda’s challenge in the New Year. I already have a bunch of pretty notecards ~ I knew I was buying them for a good reason, not just because they were ‘two for one’!
🙂

Nurturing Thursday is hosted by Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about it, or to find out how you can join in, press this link.

Other ‘Nurturing’ contributors are:

Crowing Crone Joss

Inside the Mind of Isadora

Laurie’s Notes

Pocket Perspectives

Mazeepuran

Tea and Paper

Meg Evans

Bowl of Cherries

Hugmamma

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

16 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 66”

  1. I well remember the days of contact being via a pone box or a note in the mail. I remember two post deliveries a day except on Saturdays- one and Sundays -nil. There was a delight inn receiving mail hat, as you say, you could look through quickly before reading properly later or even just re-reading for pleasure. Even the sight of the postman meant you weren’t isolated from human company totally.
    I’m not knocking the electronic age of telling someone you love them instantly and not having to wait days for news but a letter was a tangible thing that held far more well thought out content than the txt spk we have today or internet shorthand. I think the idea of sending out cards just to remind someone you’re thinking of them is a splendid idea and holds much merit.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    1. It would be hard to explain to a youngster how leisurely communication mechanisms were in those days, David. One point that has occurred to me is that nowadays it’s too easy to respond in haste ~ and erroneously. I’ve recently written a couple of emails and text messages, which have been totally misconstrued and for which I received damning, abusive replies. These made it clear that the recipients (my adult children!) hadn’t read them properly and were reacting to what they imagined I was trying to say. Some things my mother wrote annoyed me at first ~ but I would realise on re~reading her letter when I had more time ~ that I’d got hold of the wrong end of the stick. So my ‘kids’ might well be the first people on my list! LOL! 😉 (((massive hugs))) to you, my friend!

  2. Yes, back in the day, it was lovely to shop for stationery for handwritten letters — all the pretty colors and textures, with something just right for every mood. Not nearly as efficient as email, but definitely more fun!

    1. Oh yes Meg! I used to love buying writing pads and notelets, with different designs for different people. And when I left home my mother gave me a leather writing~case, with pad, envelopes, fountain pen and a book of stamps inside ~ so I had no excuse not to write. I loved it and used it until the zip broke and it fell apar! 🙂

  3. A project toput on my new things to do in 2015. I love writing letters and receiving them. Few people do that now-a-days. A shame. There was no greater joy for me than when my pen-pals letter would arrive. It was always exciting. Great idea for all of us to consider since many homebound people would treasure a thoughtful note. Wonderful Nurturing ….!!!
    Namaste …. 🙏

    1. Yes, Issy! You’ve reminded me that, as young teenager living in Wales , I had a pen pal in Wisconsin ~ her letters were a interesting insight into a different world. We knew so little about the U.S. in those days, it might as well have been on the dark side of the moon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

