Nurturing Thursday 70

This is an auspicious day.

Last night’s New Moon ushered in the Lunar New Year ~ another cycle of planting, growth, harvest and rest has begun. Yay!

It’s also the start of the Chinese Year of the Sheep, (or Ram or Goat,) bringing gifts of gentility, kind~heartedness and willingness to work with others. Sounds good to me.

And today would have been my mother’s eighty~sixth birthday. Although it’s been a while since she tuned to a different frequency, I still think about her every day. I guess I always will.

So I’ll be deciding what to plant in my garden and where, nurturing hopes and dreams for the coming year and honouring the memory of this fabulous woman, who gave me life and so much love.

πŸ™‚

IMG_1504
Happy Birthday Mum πŸ’–

Nurturing Thursday is hosted by Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about it, or to find out how you can join in, press this link.

Other ‘Nurturing’ contributors are:

Crowing Crone Joss

Inside the Mind of Isadora

Laurie’s Notes

Pocket Perspectives

Mazeepuran

Tea and Paper

Meg Evans

Bowl of Cherries

Hugmamma

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

17 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 70”

  1. Happy Birthday to your mom’s memory, and Happy New Year! Look forward to hearing of your selections. I plan on two antique red roses in memory of mine. Thank you for sharing!

    1. Thank you, Becca ~ it has been lovely remembering her in the blog and on Facebook. She would have loved that! What a lovely idea to plant two red roses in memory of your beautiful Mom ~ I’m sure they’ll thrive and blossom like she did! πŸ™‚

  2. It’s nice that despite often having two new generations of our own to tend to, we don’t forget the generations from whom we all came. It’s been many years since I was able to sit down for a cuppa and a chat with my mother and longer still for my grandparents but I often talk to them during the course of my day. I just hope they’r not listening to me when I whack my thumb with a hammer though.
    xxx Massive Hugs Jacqueline xxx

    1. Yes David, we have to mind our p’s and q’s in the presence of our elders ~ although my Mum had a few choice phrases of her own when she was gardening or engaged in DIY projects! She was extremely glamorous but wasn’t afraid to get her hands dirty ~ even taking motorbikes and motor~mowers apart to get them running better. Mum’s father was a love~rat who ran off, so I never knew him and my paternal grandfather died when I was 6, so I don’t remember him much either. But I’ve been told I am like him. He wrote poetry in Welsh but I didn’t find that out until a few years ago and haven’t seen any (not that I would understand it now.) Both my Grans lived until they were nearly 100 ~ so I have more memories of them. Bless them all! (((Hugs)))

  3. I could just see you with a cup a tea in your hands, looking out the window
    knowing Spring is just as near as your Mother, smiling into the morning

    a flow of calm comes from your words this morning….I have been thinking and rearranging
    those thoughts on what I am planting this year… being the Lunar New Year I think I will work on my moon garden with whites and pale blues πŸ™‚

    Thank you for sharing you this morning
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    1. maryrose! How lovely to hear from you ~ I’m touched by your tender words! I love the image of a ‘moon garden’ in blues and whites ~ mine is a bit of a mish~mash of plants given to me as cuttings and anything that catches my imagination in the garden centre, (or other people’s gardens!) I’m making serious efforts to grow my own veg again this year, after a few years of not being able to for various reasons.

      Thank you for dropping by and commenting. I’ve been working through a few challenges over the past couple of years but I’m coming out of that now and hope to be more active in the blogosphere again this year.

      Take care, you matter too!
      (((Hugs)))

  4. A lovely tribute to your mum! I plant white alyssum in my garden every year in memory of a very nice school counselor who encouraged me to garden when I felt stressed, and gave me a packet of white alyssum seeds to get started. Her spirit is still watching over me, according to a psychic online friend of mine. πŸ™‚

    1. That’s a lovely practice, Meg ~ I always have some deep pink peonies in my garden, wherever I live, in remembrance of my gran who was Scottish and called them ‘peeny roses’. The earlier ones came from a tuber that she’d given me but along the way I left those behind and had to buy more. My Mum loved freesias, so I try to grow those too ~ not always successfully. The smell always reminds me of her. πŸ™‚

  5. What a lovely picture of you and your mother. I was touched knowing you think of your mother every day. My heart is so tender towards my mother so I always relate to others who are the same.

    1. Thank you, Brenda, she was ~ still is ~ a very important influence in my life, although I usually did the opposite of what she advised! At times she got huffy and didn’t talk to me and she often drove me to distraction. But I was never in any doubt that she loved me and I love her still, even though it’s over twelve years since I last held her hand and told her so. Bless her! πŸ™‚

  6. Hi Jacqueline, beautiful post, the Universe never stops, Earth, moon, sun always changing, but what will never change is the love we have for our mothers, it is forever with us!

Leave a Reply

