Nurturing Thursday 71

Nurturing Thursday contributor Meg Evans has tagged me in a fun challenge called  ‘Spread the Love,’ which began on Valentine’s Day. Thank you Meg ~ I’m not usually much good at these things but I’ve decided to link my effort to today’s Nurturing Thursday post. 

According to the rules the first thing I have to do is come up with 10 four word sentences about ‘love’

Hardly any of the cliches about love that spring to mind are made up of just four words. There are tons with five or more ~ ‘All you need is love,’ ‘Love is in the air’ ‘Love is a many splendoured thing’ and Erich Segal’s iconic but often mis~used ‘Love means not ever having to say you’re sorry.’ 

There are even a few with three…..’I love you’ being the most obvious! But four? That’s proved more difficult for me ~ I guess that’s why they call it a challenge!

When I explained to My Love why I was muttering and frowning, he made up a brilliantly funny one…..which we’d forgotten by the time I’d found a notebook and pen, to write it down. So with a lot of thought and a little help from the Internet I’ve mixed it up and chosen these: 

  1. Nurture yourself with love.
  2. ‘Love is all around’ Reg Presley
  3. Self care is loving.
  4. ‘Love is my religion’ John Keats
  5. I love my life.
  6. ‘Love is our mother.’ Rumi
  7. Love and be loved.
  8. ‘Love your Harley Davidson.’ Martin King 😘 (This isn’t the one he forgot…. but it is true, he does. Me too!) 
  9. True love is divine.
  10. ‘Ultimately love is everything’ M Scott Peck

I found the second part of the challenge much easier ~ to share my favourite passage or poem about love. These words, On Marriage, from ‘The Prophet’ by Khalil Gibran send shivers down my spine every time:

You were born together, and together you shall be forever more.
You shall be together when the white wings of death scatter your days.
Ay, you shall be together even in the silent memory of God.
But let there be spaces in your togetherness,
And let the winds of the heavens dance between you.

Fill each other’s cup, but drink not from one cup.
Give one another of your bread, but eat not from the same loaf.
Sing and dance together and be joyous, but let each of you be alone,
Even as the strings of a lute are alone though they quiver with the same music.

    Give your hearts, but not into each other’s keeping.
    For only the hand of Life can contain your hearts.
    And stand together yet not too near together:
    For the pillars of the temple stand apart,

    And the oak tree and the cypress grow not in each other’s shadow.’

    Now I’m supposed to tag 10 others ~ but instead I’m throwing the challenge open to anyone who’d like to continue spreading this wave of love throughout the blogosphere. You can read Meg’s post, with all the details, here.

    🙂

    Nurturing Thursday is hosted by Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about it, or to find out how you can join in, press this link. 

    Other ‘Nurturing’ contributors are: 

    Crowing Crone Joss 

    Inside the Mind of Isadora 

    Laurie’s Notes 

    Pocket Perspectives 

    Mazeepuran 

    Tea and Paper 

    Meg Evans 

    Bowl of Cherries 

    Hugmamma

    Author: Jacqueline King

    Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

    7 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 71”

    1. I’m not going to take the challenge about sending the message to 10 others but I had to sit and come up with 4 word phrases about love, even though you covered some of the best.
      I love my Self
      Love is true connection
      I live in love
      Share all your love
      Love lights the world

    2. It’s great how you put this challenge together with Nurturing Thursday — you are right, love is the best kind of nurture! 🙂 And the Gibran quote is one of my favorites too.

    Leave a Reply

    