Brand New Tao 

This is ‘brand new day’ (all lower case.)

I’ve been scrolling through the WordPress Themes menu and have decided it’s time for a change. This one attracted me because of it’s name ~ it’s bright and optimistic and reflects how I’m feeling at the moment. Long may that continue!

For a couple of years I’ve been unable to publish regular posts. A series of unfortunate incidents ~ culminating in complete collapse, followed by me being diagnosed with inflammatory dis~eases ~ brought me down. Brain~fogged with pain, I couldn’t think of anything worth blogging about and in the end I gave up trying. If it weren’t for my self~imposed commitment to Becca Givens ‘Nurturing Thursday’ movement, I would have closed this site down a long time ago. 

When I was originally told that there’s no cure and no treatment for my degenerative condition; that my aches and pains are a result of the natural ageing process which I must simply accept, I sought further consultation. The second doctor was a woman nearer my age, with a ‘no~nonsense’ attitude, who knows me better than the one who’d delivered the news so unsympathetically. 

She encouraged me to improve my mobility and core strength with exercise, reassuring me that this wouldn’t do any further damage ~ in fact quite the opposite. She’s a qualified acupuncturist and had given me this alternative therapy in the past ~ but wasn’t able to offer further such treatment on the NHS. (With our health service in crisis, I was surprised and grateful to receive it at all!) She did, however, recommend  that I investigate complimentary methods of alleviating pain, such as chiropractic realignment and deep tissue massage. 

It’s now twelve months since I started following her advice and although it’s felt like a frustrating dance of ‘two steps forward, one step back’, I’m finally feeling the benefits. I’m more mobile and can manage activities I love ~ gardening, reading, craftwork, writing and so on, in addition to light housework. But I’m not complacent ~ this experience has forced me to pay attention to my body and make wiser choices. I’ve had to learn when it’s time to stop pushing myself and take a break. That way ~ ironically ~ I seem to achieve more. More of what matters, anyway.

I’ve been considering whether to renew my WordPress subscription for ‘taoofscrumble.com’, which runs out next month and I’ve come to the conclusion that blogging is an important part of my recovery. So I’m glad that I kept it going, (however feebly,) thanks to Becca and my other ‘Nurturing’ buddies.

Having finally made that decision, I’m feeling the old, creative excitement stirring and ideas for fresh posts beginning to flow. Yay!

Hence the bright new theme, with the optimistic title……. 

This is a ‘brand new day’!
🙂

  

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

13 thoughts on “Brand New Tao ”

  1. I’m really happy to say ‘Welcome Back’. I’m glad you’re more mobile now and able to manage the pain better without constant pill popping. It’ll be a delight to start reading your posts again.
    xxx Massive Hugs Jacqueline xxx

  2. Your site looks lovely, it’s a nice theme! Good that you didn’t give up on writing! I don’t always comment, but I enjoy reading! Looking forward to more of your writing! All the best!

  3. Yes, life really is a bit of a dance of two steps forward and one back and then there are the occasional side-steps too, as long as you keep dancing you will get to where you want to be – eventually. Lovely photo x

    1. That gave me a giggle,Thank you, Beverly ~ I am beginning to feel more upbeat and optimistic. But you can see how others don’t realise that I’m in pain ~ even I can see how well I look these days! 🙂

      1. I know that feeling well, but what i have come to realise is that, what i need is more important to me, than what someone else needs from me and i have learnt the word No! Take care of yourself x

  4. Love your new Theme Jacqueline and I am so pleased you are staying in the blogging world.. And that you followed your practitioners advice .. I have acupuncture regular its a God send.. And even though there are days I would like to give up, keeping active really is the best way forward to keep supple and ease those stiffening joints.. that protest loudly at times..

    Lovely photo of you too.. Hugs and Blessings, Sue xxx ❤

    1. Thank you for dropping by and for the moral support, Sue ~ I’m happier now that I’ve made the decision to carry on. As for exercise, I’ve been practising a new form of chi~gung, which I’ll be writing about soon ~ it really has been a life~changer 🙂

Leave a Reply

