Crafty Bees

I’ve engaged in some form of crafting all my life ~ Scrumbling being my fibre art of choice, (the clue’s In the title of this blog!) But when I began to suffer neck problems, I found I couldn’t manage more than a few minutes of crochet or knitting at time ~ and even that left me with a headache. Sad face. 😟

Recently I embarked on a programme of specific exercises (which I’ll tell you about another day) and, to my great joy, I find that I’m now able to work for longer, providing I follow my own advice and don’t push it too far. Yay! Now I don’t have to donate my (considerable) yarn stash to charity ~ and I can try my hand at some of those fantastic projects bookmarked for ‘when I have time’. 😊

But self~motivation can be tricky, particularly when you’ve been out of the loop. So when my friend Kerry asked if I’d be interested in joining a new craft group I jumped at the chance to meet up with other creative people, some of whom I already knew.

‘Crafty Bees’ started in March and is held in a local cafe every other Monday evening. With it’s comfy sofas and welcoming ambience, The Living Room is the ideal meeting place for members to bring along their WIP’s; exchange tips, tricks and advice, touch base with old friends and get to know new people. The manager, Charlie, opens up especially for us and serves yummy home~made cakes and beverages at very reasonable prices. 

As you can see from the photos below, which I took at last night’s session, Crafty Bees is a literally a hive of creative activity!

              

 

🙂

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

16 thoughts on “ Crafty Bees”

    1. Kerry organised it, Vendulka and she chose an excellent venue not far from your Newport shop. It’s good to get together with the some of the old UFO’s, as well as new people ~ Sylvia, Frances, Catherine and Jan come along too ~ though not this week. I’ll pass on your good wishes! 🙂 x

    1. Well, I hadn’t thought of that, Gilly, but that is a thought worth considering. I know others make lots of small, saleable items for school fairs and to raise funds for Brownies, Guides and dancing groups. Maybe we could donate some of the proceeds to the cafe ~ which is run by the Methodist Church and doesn’t charge us room hire. Thanks for that idea, I’ll pass it on! 🙂

  1. It’s a great way to become involved in the community, Brenda ~ there are women of all ages in the group. (No men but they’re not excluded and we used to have a very talented make knitter and spinner in our UFO group, when it was up and running!) We chat about anything and everything, not just crafts. It reminds me of a series of books I read about traditional American Quilting Bees ~ I mentioned that when we were choosing the name! 🙂

  2. How wonderful Jacqueline that you get to craft together but more than that, that you are able to concentrate upon your craft with less pain and discomfort for longer.. Your Group of crafty-Bees look to be a Hive of activity 🙂 Lovely to catch up with you again.. 🙂 Love Sue xx

  3. I’m so glad you’ve found a way to keep your crafty and artistic soul satisfied. Perhaps you’ll inspire some of these younger women to stretch and maintain flexibility in their necks and shoulders so they don’t later develop a similar problem. I think people who sew or knit and crochet probably have many of the same issues as those who sit all day at a computer! What a happy group to join, Jacqueline! I would love something of a similar nature. Good for you!

    1. Thank you, Debra ~ and for the suggestion that I share my tips on avoiding neck pain. Yes, crafting, writing, reading, gardening….every pastime I enjoy seems to involve bending my head for long periods! It is a great group ~ and we have a FB page to share our accomplishments on~line, in between meetings, so we are getting to know each other more quickly, via social media. I’m so glad I was invited to join! 🙂

  4. This looks like so much fun! I have found that there is something extra special about being in a group of like-minded creative people – the creative energy generated is like something that feeds itself. 🙂 So glad you’re having fun with other creatives and that your exercises are helping.

    1. Thank you, Corina ~ it is exciting to be part of this group as I’ve been spending quite a lot of time on my own recently. It’s inspiring to see what others are producing and there’s so many possibilities about which way the group will develop ~ attending shows, having trips to big events, or just meeting regularly and sharing skills. Just what I required to get me back into my own creative flow! 🙂

    1. You’ve got me sussed, Ellen ~ plus I feel like I’m in one of those quilting or knitting novels, with women gathering round to craft and solve all the problems of their community together, and it all turns out beautifully in the end! 😉

  5. I could do with something like that. Slow, but steady is my approach these days, slow but very steady 😉

Leave a Reply

