Nurturing Thursday 76

I’ve been riding high on a wave of wellbeing lately, so I was hoping to write about my new exercise routine today. 

But on Tuesday I woke up aching all over, with a sore throat and fuzzy head. I sincerely hoped that this was due to hay fever or ‘something that’s going round’, not another painful auto~immune ‘flare~up’.

I couldn’t pinpoint what might have caused such a set~back, except that ~ ironically ~ feeling so much better has allowed me to be more active. Maybe I’d over~stretched myself in a fit of enthusiasm? I decided to step up my tried and tested anti~inflammatory measures ~ these make sense anyway, whatever the cause of my discomfort.

  
 I prepared a stew crammed with veg, in the slow cooker and a juce of celery, apple and root ginger. These go a long way towards meeting my ‘9~a~day’ total. (Yes, that’s right ~ NINE portions of fruit and veg, plus a clove of garlic every day.) Thankfully I love them, or keeping this up would be quite a struggle and ~ particularly with regards to the garlic ~ it’s a good job that my man loves me! 

  
Tart Cherry Extract has natural analgesic and anti~inflammatory properties without any unpleasant side effects. It’s one of those tastes you either love or hate ~ it can be diluted it with water to make it a little less sour but then there’s more of it to get down! I actually prefer it neat and took three 5ml spoonfuls a day for several months, as a complimentay supplement. It alleviated my symptoms so well that I actually forgot take it regularly ~ but I’m back on schedule now. 

  
I can also treat myself to a glass of red wine and a square of very dark chocolate in the evening, with a clear conscience, (as long as the cocoa beans are ethically sourced, without the use of child slave labour.) But I have to remember that while ‘a little warms, too much burns’ ~ alcohol and sugar in excess will cause inflammation.

I found all of the above recommendations and more, in the book ‘Anti Inflammatory Diet’ by Victoria Lane. I’m not yet following it to the letter, there’s a lot of information to get to grips with ~ but I am making more conscious food choices and the measures I am taking have definitely had a positive effect on my symptoms and energy levels. They also meet with the approval of my GP, a great supporter of holistic and preventative therapies, who has encouraged me to pay attention to the messages my body sends me. 

So I’ve listened and have been giving it what it was asking for: common sense nurturing and plenty of rest

And I’m already feeling the benefit: my sore throat has cleared up and ~ although my joints are still sore and itchy ~ I’m optimistic that they’ll soon become more flexible again! 

🙂

N.b. Please note that I’m not advocating the above measures as an alternative to prescribed medical treatment. I am following them after thorough consultation with my doctor and I would advise anyone who might be interested in them to do the same. 

Nurturing Thursday is hosted by Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about it, or to find out how you can join in, press this link. 
Other ‘Nurturing’ contributors are: 
Crowing Crone Joss 
Inside the Mind of Isadora 
Laurie’s Notes 
Pocket Perspectives 
Mazeepuran 
Tea and Paper 
Meg Evans 
Bowl of Cherries 
Hugmamma

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

11 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 76”

  1. I’m glad the sore throat is gone and your sunshine personality is back on track.I hope your joints will be OK within a day or two. With luck maybe we can have some nice weather to return the smile to your face.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    1. Thank you for your good wishes, David ~ they must have worked because I really am feeling much better today! It’s sunny here but very windy ~ hope to go out walking the dog later and blow those cobwebs away! Thank you so much for tweeting my links! 🙂 (((Humongous Hugs))) and hoping you have a wonderful weekend too! 🙂

  2. I can’t think of anything that makes more sense than following the leading of your body and taking the measures you are taking. BTW All the things you take sound delicious to me. 🙂 Feel better ❤

    1. That’s true, Brenda ~ it makes so much sense to treat yourself gently before you become really sick. In the past I’ve tended to soldier on and collapse eventually, when it has all become too much ~ I’m not alone in this, it seems to have become part of our culture these days. Luckily I like all the things I’ve mentioned here too! 🙂

  3. An energy sister of mine — reminds me whenever something comes up — ask first, does this belong to me? And if it doesn’t, send it back with pure Love and Light. It alleviates many health obstacles that are annoyances and appear out of the blue. I also have been doing a lot of reading about the use of turmeric in the form of “Golden Paste” for anti-inflammatory. I haven’t made any yet — but I plan to and give it a trial run! Here’s to a cheerier weekend health-wise. Thank you for sharing and linking to Nurturing Thursday! 😀

    1. Yes, I also spent a lot of years carrying around other people’s fears and wore myself down believing I just had to tough it out, until I realized that sending unwanted stuff back with love and light was a much better approach. As for anti-inflammatory, snapdragon blossoms on salads are both healthy and fun! I always plant a lot of snapdragons in my garden, and they come up from last year’s seeds too.

  4. I will use that useful tip Becca ~ I have noticed a pattern in the occurrences of pain and feeling ‘out of sorts’ so it’s good to have a little ritual to dissipate that disruptive energy. I’ve been investigating the use of turmeric too and belong to the FB group ~ but haven’t made the Golden Paste yet, either. I have to source some in root form ~ it’s not available in the shops here. As I mentioned a few days ago, contributing to Nurturing Thursday has kept this blog going at times when I was in too much pain to write anything else! 🙂

  5. I’m so happy that you are feeling better! I, too, have recently had to completely overhaul my diet (doctor’s orders), and I never realized how much work it is to eat healthier. I always thought I was doing okay, but now I read every, single label and am comparing grams of this/that, keeping a journal so that I know exactly what is going into my body at all times. It’s a pain, but worth it in the end. After all, if we don’t have our health, not much else will be any good, either. Keep it up, Jacqueline! 🙂 You can do it!

    1. Thank you for your encouragement, Corina, it does get easier as you begin to feel better and learn to recognise (and avoid) trigger foods! Sounds like you are doing really well ~ as you say, health is key to a happy, fulfilled life! 🙂

  6. I think the best thing for me has been meditating regularly. I have found that when i listen to my body, then it tells me what it needs, not that i always give it, it, but at least i am trying to do so. Hope you are feeling well and strong again by now.

Leave a Reply

