Nurturing Thursday 77

Weather conditions on the Island have been unusally erratic this spring ~ even when the sun has come out to play, strong winds have kept temperatures low. There have been times when I wondered whether my veg crops would survive, let alone flourish. 

But, with the warm sunshine of the last few days and a little nurturing from me ~ feeding and watering, using ‘grey’ water, wherever possible ~ they are finally forging ahead:

   

Tomatoes, Chantenay carrots, lettuce.

    

Courgettes, with more carrots, salad leaves and ~ in the background ~ a single runner bean. (The other two snapped off in the wind! Luckily I have a few more planted in a raised bed.)

   
Blueberries, black mint, tomatoes and…. yep…. Even more carrots and lettuce! (There are more seedlings in a tray than I thought there would be!) 

I tried to add a few more photos this morning but loading them sent the iPad into a tizzy, so I had to close the whole thing down until it had sorted itself out. Not one to tempt fate, I’m going to quit while I’m ahead ~ but I’m sure you get the picture. 

Gardening is great exercise and you don’t even notice that you’re doing it. I get completely lost in the moment when I’m tending my raised beds and pots. And in return for a little effort on my part I’m rewarded with peace and tranquility, plus a few servings of organically grown veg. Win~win~win.

It’s a nurturing situation, all round! 

๐Ÿ™‚

Nurturing Thursday is hosted by Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about it, or to find out how you can join in, press this link. 

Other ‘Nurturing’ contributors are: 

Crowing Crone Joss 

Inside the Mind of Isadora 

Laurie’s Notes 

Pocket Perspectives 

Mazeepuran 

Tea and Paper 

Meg Evans 

Bowl of Cherries 

Hugmamma

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! ๐Ÿ˜

14 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 77”

  1. Amazing vegetables and salads, Jacqueline, great minds think alike, as you said on my blog. They look so tasty. Isn’t it great to get into some sunshine as well, even if it’s still a bit colder than we’d like. Glad you posted, I enjoyed seeing your garden. We both have the buddah as well. Have a great weekend. xx

  2. Even with the sunshine there’s a bit of a nip around in the breeze but it still looks like you’ll have a good crop ( well maybe not runner beans) to go at.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  3. Awesome! I tried to grow blueberries a few years ago, but it was hopeless, the rabbits ate everything. I should have had the sense to put them in a pot out of reach like you did!

  4. What a wide variety you’re growing, there’s nothing like growing your own! I get to do quite a bit of digging and its a killer but I can feel it doing me good too ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. My new place as a huge communal garden, which has grass and at some point had flower beds too, but outside my kitchen window there is a low wall and i think i may had a pot of two or maybe more with something green and maybe flowery too ๐Ÿ™‚ I enjoy gardening but i haven’t had a garden for years, so we shall see.

  6. Lovely to see everything growing and thriving here Jacqueline .. I hope the Sun keeps shining, we have had a lovely week now a rainy weekend.. ๐Ÿ™‚ Hugs your way xxx Sue

  7. It looks like your container gardening is a huge success! Your plants look happy, and in turn, I’m sure that their yields will nourish your own happiness, too. I agree – there is something very meditative about gardening and working with the earth. ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you get more sunshine than rain soon.

  8. What a great garden you have! I am very jealous, I don’t have a green thumb at all when it comes to vegetables!

Leave a Reply

