Nurturing Thursday 83

Recently my friend Debra posted on her blog breathelighter that installing a new driveway to her home is causing chaos. I can certainly identify with that at the moment! 

In the course of carrying out renovations to their property, our neighbours discovered several leaks in our shared water main. As the system is over a hundred years old, repairs aren’t an option ~ it has to be completely replaced. Deep trenches have been dug on both sides of our adjoining garden wall ~ turning  my ‘Secret Courtyard’……

  
…..into a building site!
   
 

What with taking part in endless discussion at every stage of the process and keeping a watchful eye on a highly inquisitive terrier when allowing workmen access, I have little time to indulge in my own pursuits. It feels like it’s been going on forever and we’re not quite on the home stretch yet ~ the new pipe has to be fed through a hole in the wall ~ which hasn’t even been drilled yet ~ and connected to the stop~cock on our side, before the trench can be back~filled and order restored. 

We hadn’t budgeted for this emergency (which is classed as ‘wear and tear’ and therefore not covered by buildings insurance,) or planned on having any more outside work done this year. But ~ like Debra ~ I’m choosing not to allow the mess and disruption to upset me. 

‘Your living is determined not so much by what life brings to you as by the attitude you bring to life; not so much by what happens to you as by the way your mind looks at what happens. Kahlil Gibran

We are so fortunate to be living in a country where clean water, piped right into our houses, is available at the turn of a tap (faucet.)

And I’ve been meaning to change that courtyard around for a while, anyway! 

πŸ˜‰

Nurturing Thursday is hosted by Becca Givens, author of the inspiring blog ‘On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea.’ To read more about it, or to find out how you can join in, press this link. 


Other ‘Nurturing’ contributors are: 


Crowing Crone Joss 


Inside the Mind of Isadora 


Laurie’s Notes 


Pocket Perspectives 


Mazeepuran 


Tea and Paper 


Meg Evans 


Bowl of Cherries 


Hugmamma





Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

15 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 83”

  1. You’ve adopted the best outlook Jacqueline. Look on it as an opportunity for beneficial change but cross your fingers that’s it for at least the next 50 years.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    1. Still suffering from disruption, dust and noise David ~ but the new supply was connected yesterday so no more leaking water and the end o that work is in sight. Workmen start repairing the neighbour’s (adjoining) roof on Monday ~ oh joy!!! πŸ˜• Bg fat (((Hugs))) to you! X

  2. Hi Jacqueline, your secret courtyard is (was) so beautiful, I could imagine myself there drink a cup of tea. Construction is always trouble, but I’m sure you will have a great place after everything is done. I agree that our attitude is the most important, so keep up with the positive attitude.

  3. I am so glad that we can at least share in our commiseration, Jacqueline! I am really sorry that this significant disruption has taken over. At least in our case we planned for the project. I really relate to your comment about having no time for your own pursuits. I can see that your secret courtyard was very special, and it will be again. With your creativity I can only imagine what you’ll do next. I do hope when order is all restored you’ll post photos of your “new and improved” courtyard. I’ll be very happy for us both when life can resume with a little more order. πŸ™‚

    1. Still in chaos Debra ~ though the new water supply has now been connected so no more water leaking into the ground around the houses. And Indie ~dog is getting plenty of exercise, when it all gets too much for me! πŸ™‚

    1. Oh blow, touchscreen too sensitive…..now the toilet won’t stop running unless we take the lid off! Hope the apple tree is not to traumatised. We’re chopping down the plum trees too.😏

  4. It gives you an opportunity for new insight — and you are handling it well. The quote is perfect for the occasion … and now you are one week closer to the end (as I am late in visiting)! Thank you for sharing with Nurturing Thursday … I love the photos of your secret garden! ❀

    1. Thank you, Becca ~ the new water supply wasn’t connected until yesterday and we have a great deal of clearing up to do, both outside and inside. My husband used the fact that I had to empty the kitchen shelves (to allow the plumber access to the pipes) to redecorate the units, thus creating even more of a muddle. He day I’ll look back on all this and laugh! πŸ˜„

  5. I’m late so late …. but, I’m here and can truthfully say your post is filled with so much positivity. We can’t avoid the challenges we’re given but we can certainly accept them gracefully and allow ourselves to be calm during the time these changes are going on. Well done … for nurturing.
    Love and Light,
    Namaste,
    Isadora πŸ™πŸ»

Leave a Reply

