Nurturing Thursday 86 ~Jumping back on the Peace Train….

I’m generally upbeat but recently I’ve allowed the unfolding craziness in the world to ‘get’ to me. So, when I came across this blogpost, Free Spirit Byron Bay (shared by Earthschool Harmony on Facebook) I just had to reblog it!

I don’t read newspapers or watch live TV ~ but it’s practically impossible to avoid the sensational and biased stories on which Social Media thrive. These sites are brilliant mechanisms for keeping in touch with distant family and friends so I’d rather keep my accounts open, although I’m going to self~regulate my activity on them for a while. The slew of chaotic messages can overwhelm my senses, unless I take time out to touch base with what’s really important to me.

So I’m heading out into my garden to reconnect with Mother Nature by tending my plants. Literally ‘digging in the dirt’ gives me a more balanced perspective!

So I’m looking forward to a perfectly Nurturing Thursday and I wish everyone else the same ~ however you choose to spend it!

🙂

(Nurturing Thursday is hosted by Becca Givens, author of an inspiring bog. To read more about it, or to find out how you can join in, please visit On Dragonfly Wings With Buttercup Tea.)



Free Spirit Byron Bay

Todays confession:

Lately, I’ve been doing something I don’t usually do, something I know doesn’t feed my soul and, as expected, it has made me feel disconnected from spirit, weighed down and flat.

Yup, I’ve been watching/reading the news and getting caught up in media frenzy and negativity. It’s too easy to feel absolutely overwhelmed and unable to make a difference when such huge global issues are discussed on a moment to moment basis. And so, I took the day off. My two daughters and I drove up into the lush green hills, spread out blankets, threw down some scatter cushions and we ate, talked, read, laughed and connected with the vibrations of this beautiful planet. Soul food. Love.

It doesn’t mean I am burying my head in the sand by any means but, it does mean I have again realised I can’t carry the weight of the world on my shoulders or control the outcome


View original post 46 more words

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

7 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 86 ~Jumping back on the Peace Train….”

  1. Jacqueline that is SO talking from my heart, I’m even thinking to stop following some of my friends on Facebook, as they don’t post anything else! And it all stopped me from thinking love and positive. Thank you for re-blogging this and opening my eyes!! Thank you, thank you!

  2. Hi Jacqueline, yes, balance, I’m thinking the same now with yesterday’s equinox, not too much, not too little, enough. Reconnecting with nature is the best for it, and now in the fall with many beautiful colours outside, it’s the perfect time. Have a great day!

  3. I think it’s a wise way to live, Jacqueline. I ‘read’ the headlines online each morning so I know what’s happening in the world, offer prayers for people and situations, then I move on with my day…
    Balance is the message of not just the Equinox, but Mother Nature herself. I hope your garden nurtured you as you dug in the dirt 🙂 Autumn Blessings xx

  4. I am like you. I do not read the news or watch live TV, because too much bad stuff is just much for my senses and i get overwhelmed by it all. The world is a crazy place, that will send us crazy if we let it and i thinking taking a step back is a good thing. I know what is going on isn’t good and my prayers go out to all those who are suffering at this time, but we all suffer in our own ways.

  5. It’s been a long time since I read a newspaper and it’s a real rarity for me to watch the news.There always seems to be so much negativity and I don’t want that. I know the majority of what I need to hear or read will come tome via Greenpeace or one of the other causes I favour out there, at least they try to put a positive slant on how to overcome the problems. Mankind has become fascinated with guns and wants to see them in action and our Countries still try and bully. My backing goes to those interested in peace and understanding.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

