Nurturing Thursday 89

It’s no secret that I love pottering about in my garden ~ particularly growing fruit and veg in raised beds and pots, as you can see here.

Throughout the year I nurture my crops with a variety of natural fertilisers ~ compost; manure; powdered eggshells; coffee grounds, the occasional dressing of Epsom Salts and buckets of tender, loving care. I also collect waste water to keep the soil moist ~ but due to the capricious British weather I didn’t have to use the hose at all this year. Every cloud ~ quite literally ~ had a silver lining! ๐Ÿ˜‰

This morning my garden repaid my efforts with a super~nurturing breakfast. Strawberries; blueberries; tayberries and loganberries, harvested and frozen in the summer, added a welcome burst of sunshine to this soggy mid~winter day.

And, although you can’t see them too well in this photo (and it’s too late to take another,) I can assure you that the ‘fruits of my labours’ tasted yummy! ๐Ÿ˜‹

Nurturing Thursday was created by Becca Givens ~ to bring a shot of uplifting positivity to the blogosphere. Please visit her inspiring blog, On Dragonfly Wings with Buttercup Tea

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! ๐Ÿ˜

9 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 89”

  1. Your garden really produced! I love to grow a few vegetables and herbs, and I have few strawberry plants, but I’ve really cut back because we have the opposite of what you’ve described, and much less water. We are poised to have a much “wetter” season this year, so I’m hopeful I can return to a better garden. I absolutely loved the photos of yours. A good vegetable garden is so satisfying!

    1. Thank you, Debra ~ I’m a bit of a haphazard gardener, doing things when it ‘feels’ right, rather than following a strict timetable. That seems to work better with the mixed up seasons we are having lately. We are hoping for a drier year next year ~ I’m ever hopeful that the planet will balance out and that we all have more settled climates!

  2. What a lovely treat!! I’ve never tasted either tayberries and loganberries! What do they resemble? I appreciate you sharing with Nurturing Thursday! Have a great weekend!!

    1. They are an uplifting treat, Becca ~ I’m glad I picked and froze handfuls of fruit as it ripened. Those crops were a bit sparse this year, because of the lack of sunshine. Tayberries and loganberries are both deep pink and taste a bit like raspberries but in different ways. Tayberries grow on spiky brambles and loganberries on long, smooth canes. They are actually a nuisance because they spread very quickly and choke other plants, so I am going to dig them out in Spring. This was my last crop of both those fruits, so I’m determined to enjoy them! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Well done Jacqueline, it does look yummy.I still think I’d have needed a bit more fruit, ie Lemon juice for the pancake.I think I’d have breakfast three times a day till the fruit ran out.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

  4. Haha, David ~ I could live on that too but I’m rationing my consumption to make them last! I did have lemon juice and honey on the pancakes and some fresh pineapple chunks as well ~ I didn’t grow those though, so left them out of the description!It took me all day to write it as it was!! (((Huge Hugs))) to you too! ๐Ÿ™‚ x

  5. Wonderful and delicious breakfast Jacqueline,Isn’t it great to eat our Garden’s bounty and savour it through the winter.. I also had a bumper harvest of Loganberries and Blueberries, the blueberries though I ate fresh, the Raspberries and Loganberries were frozen along with Blackberries… Nothing nicer on a cold morning to drop some frozen fruits into hot porridge, they melt almost straight away and are yummy..
    Lovely to see your wonderful plate with pankcakes.. ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope all is well with you and you are not getting too much rainfall…

    We have had plenty, but as so lucky, thinking of those in Cumbria with the flooding.. So heartbreaking again for them..

    Wishing you a wonderful week.. Love and Hugs.. Sue xxx

Leave a Reply

