Nurturing Thursday 92

 

Blue Moon Reiki on Facebook

The above quote is resonating with me right now ~ for some reason I haven’t been sleeping well lately. Finding myself wide awake in the wee small hours a thousand thoughts fight for my attention. Eventually I remember to run through a meditation routine, finally dropping into deep slumber around about dawn. 😟

I know from experience that when I get tired and tetchy the best solution is to take myself off and become absorbed in something creative ~ whether or not I actually feel like it. 

With temperatures in my Kitchen Courtyard hovering around zero, the plants look enchanting in their pots ~ but gardening defntely isn’t an option just yet:

 

So I’ve been spending time in the warm and cosy Kaboodle, messing around with a ‘Steampunk’ themed collage that I’m currently experimenting with……

  

……. upcycling empty chocolate boxes (yum yum) into picture frames …..

  

…..and writing a Gratitude List:

  

It takes a bit of focused concentration to shift my grumpy mind~set but once I get into the groove my spirits begin lift, chasing those mid~winter blues away! 

 πŸ˜˜

Nurturing Thursday was created by Becca Givens ~ to bring a shot of uplifting positivity to the blogosphere. Please visit her inspiring blog On Dragonfly Wings With Buttercup Tea.

Author: Jacqueline King

Happily retired and living each day as it comes. I have enough, I am content. It doesn't get better than that! 😍

20 thoughts on “Nurturing Thursday 92”

    1. Steampunk is what the Victorians might have imagined the future would look like, given the technology that they possessed at the time, Gilly. I had no idea it was so wide~ranging until I started to research it! I am thoroughly enjoying putting my own spin on it and have plenty of ideas to explore! πŸ™‚

    1. I have several projects on the go, Elizabeth, so that I always have something that I can pour my thoughts into ~ some preparation, priming, glueing or painting. however challenging it always seems to refresh me! πŸ™‚

  1. I think you’re really on to something quite brilliant in choosing creativity to focus your mind! That’s an excellent piece of advice for all of us! I love your collages. You have me thinking about where I might find some of those pretty candy boxes. πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Debra ~ I know that I have to shift that negative energy, otherwise it can spread. The boxes came from our Β£1 and 99p shops (dollar store?)~ the chocolates had different centres and tasted quite upmarket, considering where they were bought!! πŸ™‚

  2. I can see why occupying your hands with crafts would lift the spirits, especially if the craft work was the Steampunk work you’ve been doing. It looks fantastic Jacqueline and has already raised a smile on my face so you didn’t come bowl empty.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    1. Bless you, David, for your generous comment! Steampunk is fascinating me at the moment and I’m trying to incorporate my desire to re~use waste packaging and found objects wherever possible. I’m glad that my efforts mad you smile! πŸ™‚ (((Humungous Hugs)))

  3. I have learnt the art of saying ‘no’ and not feeling guilty when I have too, but it has taken me years to do it.

  4. It’s difficult skill to learn, isn’t it Beverly ~ but I have come a cropper so many times before when I’ve struggled to be super~human. 😦 The fact that I have an outside building, with no internet/phone signal is very useful ~ I was told I could buy a signal booster but I said ‘no way, this is my sanctuary!’ πŸ™‚

  5. Such a beautiful post Jacqueline. I am happy that you have found nice creative ways (including enjoying chocolates πŸ˜‰ ). I love the bird on your collage very much. Have a nice weekend. πŸ™‚

  6. Hi Jacqueline, I love your Steampunk artwork and particularly the use of the inner workings of clocks or watches…very cool. I’ve heard of Steampunk and that there are people who dress up to reflect the style but don’t really know too much about it.

    Mira, her mother and I are going to be doing an art project this coming week but it will be for Valentine’s Day. I bought a bunch of cute supplies and we’re going to make Valentine’s for all her “besties.” It’s going to be fun!
    Gayle ~

Leave a Reply

